VideoLibrary.GetMovies filter?
Hi,

I'm new to all this so sorry if its a dumb question but how do you use the filter on VideoLibrary.GetMovies? an example would be great

Thanks
Hi,

i've you tried this :
Code:
"filter" : ["year" : "2010", "tag" : "MyTag"]

As i understand, "filter" is an array with specific parameters as 'year' or 'tag'.

To see all parameters : Wiki, and expand JSON Schema Description
Thanks

So you cant just filter by name? I need to create tags and filter by those?
Apparently you can't filter by title. It would be great by the way : VideoLibrary.GetMovies 'StarWars'

Tags may be a solution to categorize/organize your movies, and then use it as filter.

If you want to retreive a single movie, only knowing his title, you may have to do it in two times.
  1. First retrieve all movies (VideoLibrary.GetMovies)
  2. search in that list the movie's title to get the movieid you search
  3. and then get detail information (VideoLibrary.GetMovieDetails)

I've not deeply searched it, so i may be mistaken.

After all i'm maybe as new as you are, i'm just a developper trying to help.
You can use advanced filtering in VideoLibrary.GetMovies but it's a bit complicated. IIRC there are a few example requests floating around in the JSON-RPC part of the forum.
Always read the online manual (wiki), FAQ (wiki) and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail Team Kodi members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules (wiki).
Please read the pages on troubleshooting (wiki) and bug reporting (wiki) before reporting issues.
(2013-08-27, 13:25)MokuJinJin Wrote: Apparently you can't filter by title. It would be great by the way : VideoLibrary.GetMovies 'StarWars'

Actually you can:

Code:
{"jsonrpc": "2.0", "params": {"sort": {"order": "ascending", "method": "title"}, "filter": {"operator": "contains", "field": "title", "value": "Star Wars"}, "properties": ["title", "art", "file"]}, "method": "VideoLibrary.GetMovies", "id": "libMovies"}