Using xbmcaddon.Addon().getSetting()
Ok im trying to check if this setting has not been set yet:

settings.xml
Code:
<setting id="TVRageLocation" type="folder" source="video" label="30009" visible="eq(-1,1)" default="" />

I have tried this
Code:
self.varStreamLocation = xbmcaddon.Addon('script.tv.promos').getSetting("TVRageLocation")
if self.varStreamLocation == None:

and this
Code:
self.varStreamLocation = xbmcaddon.Addon('script.tv.promos').getSetting("TVRageLocation")
if self.varStreamLocation == '':

neither one is working.. I had it send a notification of:

Code:
util.notify("L" + self.varStreamLocation + "L")

and it comes back as LL

so I believe its sending back nothing. I would think None should work... any ideas?
==""
Use print statement to see what's setting value
Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, read this first
Interested in seeing some YouTube videos about Kodi? Go here and subscribe
sorry I only started learning python a little over a week ago, and xbmc as well..

when I use print it doesn't do anything

and I cant run it from IDLE because it errors out on import of anything xbmc related..

EDIT:::::

just found out it prints to log lol

ok here is the code:
Code:
print "TV Promos -" + self.varStreamLocation + "-"

and the result:
Code:
16:50:16 T:6072  NOTICE: TV Promos --
ok I switched to == "" then back to == '' and now both work.. I have no idea why but at least now I know how to print to xbmc log so I will just have that print a line also just in case...

thank you
XBMC ignores empty prints into the logfile.

If you do
Code:
print None
print ""
print some_empty_variable
you should see nothing (not even an empty line) in the log file.

If you always want to see something in the log use the "repr()" function:

Code:
print repr(some_empty_variable)
Should print you the representation of the value this variable has, e.g. "" for an empty string.