XBMC remote volume buttons not working

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
mk92595 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hello all,

I have bought this remote so I can use my logitech harmony 650 on XBMC.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00224Z...d_i=507846

Almost every button works but the volume buttons. The volume buttons only control the system. I'm on windows 8. I tried it on windows 7 on my laptop and that didnt work either.

How can I get the volume buttons working?

Edit: Also the EventGhost driver keeps failing installation.
(This post was last modified: 2013-08-30 06:33 by mk92595.)
find quote
artrafael Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator
Posts: 6,353
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 112
Location: USA
Post: #2
Welcome to the XBMC forums.

(2013-08-30 06:29)mk92595 Wrote:  The volume buttons only control the system.

They only control the system how?

Try enabling debug logging in XBMC, press the Volume +/- buttons several times each, exit XBMC and examine your debug log to see how (or if) XBMC recognized those keypresses and what actions, if any, it took in response to those keypresses. If you want others here to review your debug log, then upload its contents to a public paste site such as http://www.xbmclogs.com and post the assigned URL here.
(This post was last modified: 2013-08-30 06:38 by artrafael.)
find quote
mk92595 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
(2013-08-30 06:38)artrafael Wrote:  Welcome to the XBMC forums.

(2013-08-30 06:29)mk92595 Wrote:  The volume buttons only control the system.

They only control the system how?

Try enabling debug logging in XBMC, press the Volume +/- buttons several times each, exit XBMC and examine your debug log to see how (or if) XBMC recognized those keypresses and what actions, if any, it took in response to those keypresses. If you want others here to review your debug log, then upload its contents to a public paste site such as http://www.xbmclogs.com and post the assigned URL here.

The +/- keys work fine when im using my keyboard. When I press the volume down on my remote, it lower's the PC's volume not XBMC's.
find quote
artrafael Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator
Posts: 6,353
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 112
Location: USA
Post: #4
Then try what I suggested in the second paragraph of my reply above.
find quote
mk92595 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
(2013-08-30 06:46)artrafael Wrote:  Then try what I suggested in the second paragraph of my reply above.

I got this

http://www.xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=52271
find quote
artrafael Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator
Posts: 6,353
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 112
Location: USA
Post: #6
Looks like they're working as far as invoking the XBMC VolumeDown and VolumeUp actions:
Code:
00:53:49 T:4728   DEBUG: Keyboard: scancode: 0c, sym: 002d, unicode: 002d, modifier: 0
00:53:49 T:4728   DEBUG: CApplication::OnKey: minus (f02d) pressed, action is VolumeDown
00:53:49 T:4728   DEBUG: CAnnouncementManager - Announcement: OnVolumeChanged from xbmc
00:53:49 T:4728   DEBUG: GOT ANNOUNCEMENT, type: 64, from xbmc, message OnVolumeChanged
00:53:49 T:4728   DEBUG: Keyboard: scancode: 0d, sym: 003d, unicode: 003d, modifier: 0
00:53:49 T:4728   DEBUG: CApplication::OnKey: equals (f03d) pressed, action is VolumeUp
00:53:49 T:4728   DEBUG: CAnnouncementManager - Announcement: OnVolumeChanged from xbmc
00:53:49 T:4728   DEBUG: GOT ANNOUNCEMENT, type: 64, from xbmc, message OnVolumeChanged

... unless those were from the keyboard -/+ keypresses rather than from the remote control Volume -/+ buttons?
find quote
mk92595 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
(2013-08-30 07:10)artrafael Wrote:  Looks like they're working as far as invoking the XBMC VolumeDown and VolumeUp actions:
Code:
00:53:49 T:4728   DEBUG: Keyboard: scancode: 0c, sym: 002d, unicode: 002d, modifier: 0
00:53:49 T:4728   DEBUG: CApplication::OnKey: minus (f02d) pressed, action is VolumeDown
00:53:49 T:4728   DEBUG: CAnnouncementManager - Announcement: OnVolumeChanged from xbmc
00:53:49 T:4728   DEBUG: GOT ANNOUNCEMENT, type: 64, from xbmc, message OnVolumeChanged
00:53:49 T:4728   DEBUG: Keyboard: scancode: 0d, sym: 003d, unicode: 003d, modifier: 0
00:53:49 T:4728   DEBUG: CApplication::OnKey: equals (f03d) pressed, action is VolumeUp
00:53:49 T:4728   DEBUG: CAnnouncementManager - Announcement: OnVolumeChanged from xbmc
00:53:49 T:4728   DEBUG: GOT ANNOUNCEMENT, type: 64, from xbmc, message OnVolumeChanged

... unless those were from the keyboard -/+ keypresses rather than from the remote control Volume -/+ buttons?

Those were from the keyboard. Its getting late. Tomorrow I'll post a new log of me pressing the buttons off the remote.
find quote
mk92595 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Here is the new log.

http://www.xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=52410

There is no sign of a volume change
find quote
mk92595 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
(2013-08-30 07:10)artrafael Wrote:  Looks like they're working as far as invoking the XBMC VolumeDown and VolumeUp actions:
Code:
00:53:49 T:4728   DEBUG: Keyboard: scancode: 0c, sym: 002d, unicode: 002d, modifier: 0
00:53:49 T:4728   DEBUG: CApplication::OnKey: minus (f02d) pressed, action is VolumeDown
00:53:49 T:4728   DEBUG: CAnnouncementManager - Announcement: OnVolumeChanged from xbmc
00:53:49 T:4728   DEBUG: GOT ANNOUNCEMENT, type: 64, from xbmc, message OnVolumeChanged
00:53:49 T:4728   DEBUG: Keyboard: scancode: 0d, sym: 003d, unicode: 003d, modifier: 0
00:53:49 T:4728   DEBUG: CApplication::OnKey: equals (f03d) pressed, action is VolumeUp
00:53:49 T:4728   DEBUG: CAnnouncementManager - Announcement: OnVolumeChanged from xbmc
00:53:49 T:4728   DEBUG: GOT ANNOUNCEMENT, type: 64, from xbmc, message OnVolumeChanged

... unless those were from the keyboard -/+ keypresses rather than from the remote control Volume -/+ buttons?


Any new help related to my problem?
find quote
mk92595 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Can somebody please help me?
find quote
mk92595 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
Nevermind. I just bought this instead

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005AI4...d_i=507846
find quote
nickr Offline
Donor
Posts: 8,097
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 141
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #12
For future reference please don't bump your thread more than once a day.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 20,376
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 258
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #13
(2013-08-31 09:08)nickr Wrote:  For future reference please don't bump your thread more than once a day.

Unless you have something else to add, that is.

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: debug log = debug log, Video library = Video library, SMB = SMB , userdata = userdata, etc
find quote
artrafael Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator
Posts: 6,353
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 112
Location: USA
Post: #14
Just out of curiosity, for the tests above where the Volume -/+ buttons did not register, were you using the Harmony remote with the VRC-1100 IR receiver or were you using the actual VRC-1100 remote with it?
find quote