Android - Geniatech ATV1800 & ATV580

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Ned Scott Offline
Team-XBMC Wiki Guy
Posts: 19,864
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 247
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #16
(2013-09-06 00:52)dual_HD Wrote:  Geniatech should release the code, and you work for Pivos? When Pivos get next box out? dualcore is being on selling a long time and quadcore is coming.

I don't work for Pivos.

XBMC doesn't care how many cores you have. (see w:Megahertz myth).

Personally, I would buy an OUYA or preorder the CuBox-i.

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
Packetcrypt Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
I just learned that the ATV580 will be using the RK3188. Very disappointing news Sad

The ATV1800 will be using AmLogic but at $200 I don't see it being a big hit unless it performs as well as a HTPC.

With this news I am hoping Pivos comes out with something good as I was banking on the ATV580 being the perfect Android Box for XBMC at $120.
find quote
jmh2002 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 299
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 2
Location: FRA, ITA, UKR,
Post: #18
(2013-09-04 11:53)jmh2002 Wrote:  Pivos have said in their forums that they have a new device coming in Q4 with:

- a better remote.
- better external casing.
- better hardware specs all over.
- better out of the box experience too

and:

"When can we expect any advance product announcements ?" >>> "once its ready for mass production"
Apologies for not adding the link previously. Here it is: http://www.pivosforums.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=3714
find quote
hube Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Oct 2006
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
Geniatech atv1800 uses the new quad core AMLogic AML8726-M8 with Mali 450MP8 gpu.
(This post was last modified: 2013-09-12 05:05 by hube.)
find quote
dual_HD Offline
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
(2013-09-06 05:48)Ned Scott Wrote:  
(2013-09-06 00:52)dual_HD Wrote:  Geniatech should release the code, and you work for Pivos? When Pivos get next box out? dualcore is being on selling a long time and quadcore is coming.

I don't work for Pivos.

XBMC doesn't care how many cores you have. (see w:Megahertz myth).

Personally, I would buy an OUYA or preorder the CuBox-i.
it really makes difference, on androiid, single core runs xbmc android version, so bad. Must be dualcore.
find quote
Sam@Qubi Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #21
Check out this forum at Pivos clears up afew things.
http://www.pivosforums.com/viewtopic.php...4&start=20

Founder of the Qubi Console
find quote
kingtidge Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #22
Anyone gotten the ATV580??

Interested in hearing reviews...

Also, where can this be purchased in the US? I've googled this and am not seeing any domestic sellers.

Only place I am seeing it for sale in at aliexpress:

http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/...81838.html

Has this not been officially released yet or are they ONLY selling it through aliexpress?
find quote
momo Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #23
GeniatechAndroid TV Box RK3188 Quad CoreConfused isn't an Amlogic box?
find quote
kingtidge Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
(2013-12-10 01:24)momo Wrote:  GeniatechAndroid TV Box RK3188 Quad CoreConfused isn't an Amlogic box?

I think the RK3188 is a typo on that page...

Deffo an Amlogic Quad Core box...

Looks like Amlogic was using it in an ATV580 beta box in this video from tradeshow and does quick explanation on board (see around 1:00 min...):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aJZQaqHszOE

I spoke to a canadian retailer that carries Geniatech/MyGica products about the ATV580 and they said their system is showing a Feb 2014 release/in-stock date for it.
(This post was last modified: 2013-12-10 19:15 by kingtidge.)
find quote
lifeisfun Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 148
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #25
Purchased from Aliexpress yesterday for $89 shipping to Canada included.
find quote
kingtidge Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #26
(2013-12-10 19:46)lifeisfun Wrote:  Purchased from Aliexpress yesterday for $89 shipping to Canada included.

I was going to do the same but that aliexpress site looked like scam central when I looked at the reviews... and was odd that no other retailers are selling it... http://www.resellerratings.com/store/AliExpress

I checked via live chat with canadian retailer and MyGica resellers yesterday, world wide satellites, and they were the ones that told me the unit isn't being released until February. http://worldwidesatellites.com/

If Ali deos come through howev, let us know how it performs!
(This post was last modified: 2013-12-10 19:57 by kingtidge.)
find quote
Packetcrypt Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #27
The current unit is definitely the RK3188 box. It has been available for a couple of months now. I have not purchased one because my contact says that they do not have hardware acceleration working in XBMC yet but I assume that the new Gotham build should fix that issue.

From what I understand this box will be replaced with an AmLogic box once the chip is available.

(2013-12-10 19:15)kingtidge Wrote:  
(2013-12-10 01:24)momo Wrote:  GeniatechAndroid TV Box RK3188 Quad CoreConfused isn't an Amlogic box?

I think the RK3188 is a typo on that page...

Deffo an Amlogic Quad Core box...

Looks like Amlogic was using it in an ATV580 beta box in this video from tradeshow and does quick explanation on board (see around 1:00 min...):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aJZQaqHszOE

I spoke to a canadian retailer that carries Geniatech/MyGica products about the ATV580 and they said their system is showing a Feb 2014 release/in-stock date for it.
find quote
kingtidge Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #28
(2013-12-10 20:25)Packetcrypt Wrote:  The current unit is definitely the RK3188 box. It has been available for a couple of months now. I have not purchased one because my contact says that they do not have hardware acceleration working in XBMC yet but I assume that the new Gotham build should fix that issue.

From what I understand this box will be replaced with an AmLogic box once the chip is available.

Where can you buy it besides AliExpress?

I couldn't find any retailers that have it otherwise....
find quote
Packetcrypt Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #29
If you are purchasing from the Mygica/Geniatech store on Ali then you have nothing to worry about. I have purchased tons of units from them with no issues. MyGicaUsa has them listed on there site if you would prefer to order from NA.
find quote
lifeisfun Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 148
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #30
(2013-12-10 21:45)Packetcrypt Wrote:  If you are purchasing from the Mygica/Geniatech store on Ali then you have nothing to worry about. I have purchased tons of units from them with no issues. MyGicaUsa has them listed on there site if you would prefer to order from NA.
Exactly, same here
find quote