How to you build Python Scripts?
this is to gather info in a single thread for people to use when starting up thier own python adventure.

i'm still struggling why testing scripts on my pc so i don't need to use the xbox... i have read the emulator docs several times and tried but cannot get emulation to work.

i've spent many hours trying editors/ides and reading docs... still not settled on what i think is probably the "best".

anyway, please post and answer these questions...

1) what ide do you use on yoru pc to build / text scripts?

- specific reasons why
- what others you have tried

2) how do you test xbmc scripts?

- please explain the method if it has not been given already.
I'm not an expert but I play one at work.
i use eclipse with pydev just because i use eclipse for other stuff.
i can recommend using notepad++ because it is simple and powerful.

as far as dev goes i do as much as i can on the computer first (don't use the emulator scripts though). when i tie things into a gui and need to import xbmcgui and xbmc i just start running stuff on the xbox (save, ftp, run).

when things lock up i pepper my code with many many log statements using the bit of code below and am able to track things down with the log.txt file pretty quickly. it's also handy that i installed a powerbutton on my controller to reset the machine if it truly locks up(check tuts from x-s). this method is not very fancy or efficient but is good enough for my needs.

Quote:#at the top of the file
do_logging = 1
try:
log_file.close()
except exception:
pass
if do_logging:
log_file = open("q:\\scripts\\log.txt",'w')
def log(message):
if do_logging:
log_file.write(str(message)+"\n")
log_file.flush()
def logclose():
if do_logging:
log_file.close()

log('i am in this function! '+ str(parameter))
#at end of file
logclose()

for the ide i use active pythonwin in conjunction with the emu files.