My First Build and on a Low Budget
I am just a few notches above green to the inside workings of a PC but I am a hands on guy and don't mind being patient in the trial and error process. This is my first build and on a budget. It will serve as the main source of entertainment in the living room, and once I do my ideal build, will be moved to the master bedroom. The main functionality of this unit will be over the air TV, Netflix, Hulu, HBO Go, and streaming NFL Network & Redzone. I will not be doing much media downloading or ripping DVD's at this time.

I picked up a refurbished Dell Optiplex 320 as my starting point.

Dual Core Intel Pentium 64 bit at 3.0 GHZ
2GB DDR2 ram (I am upgrading to its max of 4GB)
500GB Seagate HDD 7200 RPM
ATI Radeon Xpress 200 Graphics
Lite-on DVD Burner
Windows 7 Ultimate

I am swapping out the power supply with Logisys PS480D2 480W ATX12V

I am adding PCI slot case cooler Alpha and Omega Model FC-2000, 2800 RPM, 42 CFM

Adding a Hauppauge 1250 TV Tuner with IR & Remote

Adding Zotac ZT-60604-10L Video Card
• NVIDIA GeForce GT 610
• Core Clock 810MHz
• Shader Clock 1620MHz
• CUDA Cores 48
• Effective Memory Clock 1333MHz
• Memory Size 512MB
• Memory Interface 64-bit
• Memory Type DDR3
• DirectX
• DirectX 11
• OpenGL
• OpenGL 4.2
• 1 x HDMI
• 1 x D-SUB
• 1 x DVI
• RAMDAC 400 MHz
• Max Resolution 2560 x 1600
• Dual-Link DVI Supported
• HDCP Ready
• NVIDIA Adaptive Vertical Sync Technology
• NVIDIA Unified Architecture

I have an open 3.5 bay and am considering adding an SSD drive as the main boot. If not, I will just add a fan for additional cooling on the HDD.

I know this not a very impressive system, it a low budget build for a beginner and right now I am at total cost of about $275 into it. I wouldn't have minded a better video card, but I needed something that would work in a PCI slot as the PCI express slot will be occupied by the TV Tuner. Like I mentioned earlier, I am pretty green so a rookie mistake I suppose.