How can I adjust buffering cache for internet streaming?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
boognish43 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi, I am currently using bitcasa to stream videos from. I have great success with most all videos but there are a bunch of 1080p mkv files that I think are just too large to play smoothly.

What I would like to do is increase the buffer size that it loads up either before or while playing to video. Is there a setting I can change to have it do this?

I am so close to having my perfect setup but this keeps bugging me Smile
Thanks!
find quote
spiff Offline
Retired Developer
Posts: 12,386
Joined: Nov 2003
Post: #2
advancedsettings, see the wiki. cachemembuffersize
find quote
boognish43 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Thanks!
find quote
stiwi Offline
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Did you manage to increase it? So what is recommended buffer size to stream 1080p files mkv files from Bitcasa?
find quote
nickr Offline
Donor
Posts: 8,097
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 141
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #5
Depends on the bitrate, but in any event will be trial and error depending on your ISP connection, the network conditions on every router between you and bitcasa.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
stiwi Offline
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
I am maxing out my 200/100 Mbit connection to Bitcasa, so this is not an issue. I could perhaps stream Full BD. Just wondered if adjusting buffer cache might preload some movie ahead? I don't know if XBMC treats Bitcasa as internal drive and therefore cache nothing, or remote / internet stream.
(This post was last modified: 2013-11-05 08:54 by stiwi.)
find quote
stiwi Offline
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
Unfortunately on 9GB file I get buffering issues.
Does anyone know if video cache options in advancedsettings.xml work for Frodo 12.2? Also which settings would be best for Bitcasa?
find quote
boognish43 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
This is what I used to solve my buffering issue. Upgraded to the newest monthly and followed these settings http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=HOW...eo%20cache
Xbmc treats bitcasa like a local drive - at least on windows
(This post was last modified: 2013-11-05 20:46 by boognish43.)
find quote
stiwi Offline
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
(2013-11-05 20:45)boognish43 Wrote:  This is what I used to solve my buffering issue. Upgraded to the newest monthly and followed these settings http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=HOW...eo%20cache
Xbmc treats bitcasa like a local drive - at least on windows

I have just tried this. Although caching works, it still buffer from time to time. Bitcasa speeds really sucks these days as my ISP doesn't throttle.
find quote
MrsAngelD Offline
Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #10
(2013-11-05 20:45)boognish43 Wrote:  This is what I used to solve my buffering issue. Upgraded to the newest monthly and followed these settings http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=HOW...eo%20cache
Xbmc treats bitcasa like a local drive - at least on windows

Thank you for this, it helped with my bitcasa streaming as well. Big Grin
find quote
rogern Offline
Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
@stiwi
If you have an 200/100 you can in theory stream 4 bluray streams.
find quote
stiwi Offline
Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
(2013-11-17 11:13)rogern Wrote:  @stiwi
If you have an 200/100 you can in theory stream 4 bluray streams.

In theory yes and in fact I am able to max out my connection from different servers but not from Bitcasa app. Bitcasa app doesn't seem to be well optimized for transfer speeds as I get much better results over HTTP and this is not only mine observation:
http://forums.bitcasa.com/index.php?/top...etter-but/
find quote