Major upgrades, what do I need for XBMC?
Hello

It's my first time on these forums so I hope I won't piss anyone off if I asked questions that have been answered previously in other topics.
I'm planning on doing some upgrades at home for both myself and my parents.
Since I have no experience with XBMC's or HTPC's, I was hoping you could help me out with a few general questions. The technical stuff i'll glady search and figure out in the existing topics.

What i'm already planning on buying:
  • NAS: Synology Disk Station DS413J + HDD's: 2x Western Digital Red WD30EFRX 3TB
  • Tablets: 3x Ipad Retina 16 GB to replace previous laptops

How me and my parents use our media currently:
  • I stream sports & esports from my PC to TV with HDMI cables.
  • My father plays music, films & concerts from his own collection + spotify with his laptop connected to TV & Receiver/Amp.
  • Both me and my dad watch tv shows (american ones which are unfortunately not legally available as soon as the american releases) which I download on my PC and then use through USB sticks on my Dune mediaplayer + his laptop
  • My mother listens radio with her laptop connected to receiver & speakers.

Since we're getting tired of HDMI cables, usb sticks and leaving unnecessary PC's & laptops online, XBMC seems to be the solution for my needs, combined with a beautiful library that everyone in my house can use. That would be amazing.

However, my mind is confused with Appletv, raspberry pi's, HTPCs, barebones, ... so what hardware do I need exactly in correspondence with bang for your buck kind of price & performance, plus I need 2 of those for in my own bedroom + the livingroom.

What's your opinion in what fits best for my situation?

Thanks in advance

Jaegger
With all your mobile devices I think you might have to do something else on the server side.