Linux - Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto)

  Thread Rating:
  • 19 Votes - 4.79 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
pyrodex Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 218
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #2506
(2014-04-13 22:10)v8rumble Wrote:  I tried installing the trusty mini install and I get this when it comes to choosing disks to install on.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/aatcbkht7ikcy7...210854.jpg

Pressing continue gives me an indefinite blank screen. I'm installing from a USB stick.

I saw this error when booting into EFI mode with the mini iso, does your board support EFI and is it currently turned on? If so disable it or if you need/want EFI use the full server iso.

Den: Ubuntu 14.04 | AMD A6-3500 | Gotham w/MythTV | Panasonic VT25 50" | Denon AVR-991 | Harmony One | 5.1 Surround Sound
Bedroom: Ubuntu 14.04 | AMD A6-3500 | Gotham w/MythTV | Samsung UN32F6300AF 32" | Harmony 650
NAS: Ubuntu 14.04 | 32TB on Areca 1880 | SMB | Sickbeard | CouchPotato | MySQL DB (XBMC) | MythTV 0.27+fixes w/ 2x HDHomeRun Prime 3CC
find quote
v8rumble Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Aug 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: Vancouver
Post: #2507
I have it set to legacy usb, it worked with 12.10. I presume something changed since then; I'll use the server iso. Thanks for the answer.
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-13 23:16 by v8rumble.)
find quote
blm14 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 166
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #2508
(2014-04-13 22:10)v8rumble Wrote:  I tried installing the trusty mini install and I get this when it comes to choosing disks to install on.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/aatcbkht7ikcy7...210854.jpg

Pressing continue gives me an indefinite blank screen. I'm installing from a USB stick.

I got that too with the mini.iso. Do you have an SSD? I got around it by using the server iso
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 4,385
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 109
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2509
For the brave: backported 3.15-rc1 patches to improve 24p and make audio working again on some systems where it completely failed before:

Code:
wget https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/55728161/linux-headers-3.14.0-amdfixes1_0.1_amd64.deb https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/55728161/linux-image-3.14.0-amdfixes1_0.1_amd64.deb
sudo dpkg -i *amdfixes1*deb
find quote
limahlowski Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2510
(2014-04-14 06:34)blm14 Wrote:  
(2014-04-13 22:10)v8rumble Wrote:  I tried installing the trusty mini install and I get this when it comes to choosing disks to install on.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/aatcbkht7ikcy7...210854.jpg

Pressing continue gives me an indefinite blank screen. I'm installing from a USB stick.

I got that too with the mini.iso. Do you have an SSD? I got around it by using the server iso
Remove USB stick after start mini.iso
find quote
nitroboost Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #2511
(2013-10-03 10:54)fritsch Wrote:  2014/04/14: Some users noted, that after upgrade from saucy to trusty there was a 100% load on home screen. If that happens to you, please start from a fresh profile by e.g. removing your .xbmc directory.

There may be multiple causes (and I guess if an .xbmc wipe fixes it, it might not be this), but when I initially upgraded I didn't do the ppa purge prior, and the upgrade had some package conflicts. I was seeing 100% load on the home screen after booting into trusty, which was caused by software processing, the proper drivers weren't being loaded for full acceleration (didn't check the Xorg logs, but guessing it was using the generic vesa driver?). Anyway, I purged the ppas and that rolled back packages, but some of the packages that failed to install during the initial upgrade were still missing. These were the ones I had to do by hand, in case it would help anyone else:

sudo apt-get install libglamor0 xserver-xorg-video-glamoregl xserver-xorg-video-radeon xserver-xorg-video-all xserver-xorg-video-ati

After that I had XBMC running like a boss again. Otherwise an easy upgrade!
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-15 00:12 by nitroboost.)
find quote
devil103 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #2512
Just wanted to share my experience upgrading to trusty from 12.04.4

Saved .xbmc/userdata folder
- Simply did apt-get purge on lightdm and xbmc, dpkg --remove on fglrx* and manually purged the config files
- then a do-release-upgrade -d
- and after that selectivly followed the tutorial on the first page installing some packages and xbmc

After that XBMC was playing like a champ again, the only thing I had to change was the zoom mode of my tv set which was set to Auto-fill before
and now I have to set it to unscaled otherwise it's zooming and unzooming at random.

All in all, an easy upgrade from a two year old LTS release
find quote
Claudio.Sjo Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 120
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #2513
Just for info:
Lubuntu 14.04, daily updates including libmesa, still crash when video is finished.
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 4,385
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 109
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2514
Yes, man ...

Here: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sourc...ug/1306897 - Not our bug. Patch was sent upstream, they don't like to pick for now. So happy crashing.
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-15 17:02 by fritsch.)
find quote
wsnipex Offline
Team-XBMC packaging monkey
Posts: 3,161
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 79
Post: #2515
feel free to comment on that bug, maybe they change their mind if there is enough pressure from users.
find quote
Jan0sh Offline
Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #2516
Just a quicky: is the subtitle download currently broken? If I click on the download subtitle button during playback nothing happens?
I have installed multiple subtitle plugins, like subscenter and opensubtitles.org.
Is there anything to configure in addition to System->Video->Subtitles?


Edit: seems like aeon nox skin isnt yet up to date. Confluence didnt work either, aeon 5th however worked...
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-15 18:56 by Jan0sh.)
find quote
metheos Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 4
Post: #2517
(2013-10-03 10:52)fritsch Wrote:  Known issues for now
- xbmc will segfault when you press stop - this will be fixed when ubuntu updates their mesa package

I haven't had any segfaults since my upgrade to trusty this past weekend.
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 4,385
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 109
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2518
Then you are lucky :-) verifiy that you are really running trusty mesa:

dpkg -l |grep mesa | pastebinit
find quote
ChessSpider Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2519
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7259737/

am i?
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 4,385
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 109
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2520
@ChessSpider: No, you are running the trusty version, but I asked metheos.
find quote
Post Reply