Linux - Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto)

  Thread Rating:
  • 23 Votes - 4.65 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
tomtomme Offline
Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2911
(2014-06-08 14:59)wsnipex Wrote:  you might not have realized it, but this is NOT a Xbmc problem. Its broken SDL packages in most distros

I forgot to mention,
opensuse 13.1 has sdl 1.2.15 - this is the version mentioned in post 1. So I should not need to set this -bs - right?

Fusion E-350, 4 GB RAM, SSD, openSUSE Tumbleweed 64bit KDE, Mesa-10.2.3, latest stable Kernel, XBMC FernetMenta-Git
find quote
tomtomme Offline
Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2912
(2014-06-08 15:03)fritsch Wrote:  To add:
For mpeg-4 I have now posted alone 5 times in this thread, that mpeg-4 hw decoding has something to do with luck, there are a whole lot different encodings out there - just disable it in expert settings.


Nobody has forced you to use opensuse, but don't make your OS incapabilities to xbmc's

thanks for the mp4 info. sorry to hear that its so difficult. will it ever be fixed completely?

on the opensuse-issue:
which incapabilities? the HD-sound not working? As I said it worked in the alpha12 days. Do you still think it is an opensuse problem?
The other 2 problems (tearing, mp4): If I understood that correct, they appear also on ubuntu.

and on the "nobody forced you to" issue:
some people like to stick to distros they are used to - at least I am, since I use suse since more than 10 years.
I really just hoped that xbmc 13.0 would work with r600/vdpau, but I guess I´ll have to wait until xbmc14. and as I said, I appreciate your hard work and don´t want to sound unthankful.

Fusion E-350, 4 GB RAM, SSD, openSUSE Tumbleweed 64bit KDE, Mesa-10.2.3, latest stable Kernel, XBMC FernetMenta-Git
find quote
deivid Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #2913
(2014-06-07 21:02)fritsch Wrote:  You should better use alpha software.

Quote:[ 24.679] (==) RADEON(0): Backing store enabled

See the init script from post 1.

Thanks, it worked.
Why is this?
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,483
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 129
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2914
Distributions have fucked it up - we need to workaround it :-)
find quote
deadite66 Offline
Donor
Posts: 223
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #2915
And the 3.15 kernel is released.

Asus E2KM1I-DELUXE (E2-2000 with HD7340) 60GB SSD + 2TB WD Caviar Green : xubuntu Trusty x64 : 3.14.2, (mythtv 0.27+fixes + 2x PCTV 290e DVB-T2)
Acer aspire revo R3600 Ubuntu Oneiric.
ASRock ION 3D, atom D525/ion2, 2GB ram, 1TB HDD running Ubuntu Precise. - in storage

(This post was last modified: 2014-06-08 20:55 by deadite66.)
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,483
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 129
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2916
Yeah, revert the offending commit and rebuild - it's a very good kernel overall.
Edit: We do the same in OpenELEC: https://github.com/OpenELEC/OpenELEC.tv/...fc5b804f28
(This post was last modified: 2014-06-08 20:56 by fritsch.)
find quote
deadite66 Offline
Donor
Posts: 223
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #2917
will do, git pulling as i type. Smile

Asus E2KM1I-DELUXE (E2-2000 with HD7340) 60GB SSD + 2TB WD Caviar Green : xubuntu Trusty x64 : 3.14.2, (mythtv 0.27+fixes + 2x PCTV 290e DVB-T2)
Acer aspire revo R3600 Ubuntu Oneiric.
ASRock ION 3D, atom D525/ion2, 2GB ram, 1TB HDD running Ubuntu Precise. - in storage

find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,483
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 129
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2918
btw. use: install kernel-package, use ubunut config, make oldconfig and use make-kpkg to build 3.15 images and then upload them :-) just use append-to-version="amdfixes1" or something and revision 1.0

Thanks in advance :-)
find quote
deadite66 Offline
Donor
Posts: 223
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #2919
Now building Smile

EDIT: arghh the VM ran out of room.

Asus E2KM1I-DELUXE (E2-2000 with HD7340) 60GB SSD + 2TB WD Caviar Green : xubuntu Trusty x64 : 3.14.2, (mythtv 0.27+fixes + 2x PCTV 290e DVB-T2)
Acer aspire revo R3600 Ubuntu Oneiric.
ASRock ION 3D, atom D525/ion2, 2GB ram, 1TB HDD running Ubuntu Precise. - in storage

(This post was last modified: 2014-06-09 08:07 by deadite66.)
find quote
deadite66 Offline
Donor
Posts: 223
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #2920
EDIT: standby, checking something.

Asus E2KM1I-DELUXE (E2-2000 with HD7340) 60GB SSD + 2TB WD Caviar Green : xubuntu Trusty x64 : 3.14.2, (mythtv 0.27+fixes + 2x PCTV 290e DVB-T2)
Acer aspire revo R3600 Ubuntu Oneiric.
ASRock ION 3D, atom D525/ion2, 2GB ram, 1TB HDD running Ubuntu Precise. - in storage

(This post was last modified: 2014-06-09 20:32 by deadite66.)
find quote
thctlo Offline
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #2921
Hai today after long waiting i did a new install on ubuntu 14.04 , i was running ubuntu 12.04 with xbmc xbva, which was running great, but now it is really bad.

here are my logs
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7619487/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7619491/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7619492/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7619493/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7619495/

is someone can look in to this, that would be great.
install is done as exact what the howto tells me.
The mesa repo is not installed.

For some reason im getting only low resolutions ( 1400x1050 ) or something.
Very slow screen movement..
i did the same install at a friend of mine, and there its working great.
what did i miss??
(This post was last modified: 2014-06-09 20:50 by thctlo.)
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,483
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 129
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2922
grrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Quote:acpi=off noapic nolapic bootdegraded=1 apparmor=0 nomodeset quiet splash nomdmonddf nomdmonisw

Are you kidding me?
find quote
thctlo Offline
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #2923
sorry.. just found the nomodeset...
(oeps) big sorry..

and without : acpi=off noapic nolapic i dont have keyboard after the ubuntu install.
(This post was last modified: 2014-06-09 21:01 by thctlo.)
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,483
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 129
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2924
don't turn acpi off, really don't the apic is okay if you don't need it - but don't keep acpi turned off.

You know the difference between acpi and apic? You should.
find quote
thctlo Offline
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #2925
and.. hdmi dropped out on the back.. it's a "that kind" of Monday...
Now, its all ok again, thank you for the very quick reply fritsch...
find quote
Post Reply