Linux - Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto)

  Thread Rating:
  • 24 Votes - 4.67 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
devil103 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #2941
Quote:Hai,

Yes, i noticed the same last night, after more testing.
and my load was a bit higher.
normaly my server is running at 800Mhz with 5-10% load.
with 3.16rc1, 1280 at 5-10% load.

I reverted back to 3.15-rc6.
and nobody noticed this subs problem?

when i switch from sub, the previous selected sub is still on my screen, and overlapping the new selected sub.
I have the same problem with the subtitles.
I'm also on 3.15 rc6 but I still experience some performance issue on 720p/1080p videos with digital audio.

It's more like it's progressivly getting worse the longer the video plays. More like an increasing stutter.
Stopping and resuming the video fixes the problem (for another 15 or so minutes)
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,519
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 148
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2942
Kernel has nothing to do with subtitles. xbmc will be updated again when wsnipex returns from holliday. Master branch is already far ahead with many bugfixes.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
thctlo Offline
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #2943
Wel, im hoping he is having a very good holiday. :-)
Just installed this xbmc version on my intel media box with Intel 915 graphics media box, and it faster then it has ever been.

Where can i donate to you guys Fritsch and Wsnipex , you guys deserve it.

And i hope this wil start even more donations for you guys, so keep up the very good work.
find quote
deadite66 Offline
Donor
Posts: 230
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #2944
Compiled the latest (3.16) from airlieds drm-fixes and the xbmc flickering has gone, yay.

EDIT: not so good on my desktop though, slow animations in kde and a full lock up.

Asus E2KM1I-DELUXE (E2-2000 with HD7340) 60GB SSD + 2TB WD Caviar Green : xubuntu Trusty x64 : 3.14.2, (mythtv 0.27+fixes + 2x PCTV 290e DVB-T2)
Acer aspire revo R3600 Ubuntu Oneiric.
ASRock ION 3D, atom D525/ion2, 2GB ram, 1TB HDD running Ubuntu Precise. - in storage

(This post was last modified: 2014-06-21 20:17 by deadite66.)
find quote
tomtomme Offline
Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2945
News for openSUSE Tutorial: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...pid1546145

FIRST:
a) You want something stable? Use the xbmc.rpm 13.X from packman http://packman.links2linux.de/package/XBMC/519387
b) You know what you are doing, you want bleeding edge alphas: compile from git using this tutorial

##### Recent CHANGES ######
- back to master branch as it works better now as G-Linux branch
- note: recompile xbmc from time to time if you encounter problems
- note: do "sudo zypper dup" after every repo change and to get regular updates instead of using apper (not supported by Tumbleweed)
######################

Fusion E-350, 4 GB RAM, SSD, openSUSE Tumbleweed 64bit KDE, Mesa-10.2.3, latest stable Kernel, XBMC FernetMenta-Git
(This post was last modified: 2014-06-22 17:40 by tomtomme.)
find quote
deivid Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #2946
I've been having an issue for a long time now, when I start or stop a video(movie/whatever) I lose video signal for a few seconds and starts again. This was no problem because it used to be on the moment I hit play or stop; see video:
>here<.

Now, the same thing happens at the 5 second mark, on every video, always at the 5 second mark, it doesn't matter if I pause at 4 seconds, when I hit play again I lose video signal.

Any way to solve this?

Logs:
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7686560/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7686559/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7686562/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7686561/
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,519
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 148
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2947
You run a nice mixture of Saucy and Trusty mesa. Most likely you did not remove the old mesa ppa _before_ upgrading to trusty.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
deivid Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #2948
Do I downgrade? IE:
Code:
apt-cache policy  libgl1-mesa-glx libglapi-mesa libopenvg1-mesa
libgl1-mesa-glx:
  Installed: 1:10.0.4-1~saucy
  Candidate: 1:10.0.4-1~saucy
  Version table:
*** 1:10.0.4-1~saucy 0
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
     10.1.0-4ubuntu6 0
        500 http://ppa.launchpad.net/wsnipex/mesa/ubuntu/ trusty/main amd64 Packages
     10.1.0-4ubuntu5 0
        500 http://ar.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ trusty/main amd64 Packages
libglapi-mesa:
  Installed: 1:10.0.4-1~saucy
  Candidate: 1:10.0.4-1~saucy
  Version table:
*** 1:10.0.4-1~saucy 0
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
     10.1.0-4ubuntu6 0
        500 http://ppa.launchpad.net/wsnipex/mesa/ubuntu/ trusty/main amd64 Packages
     10.1.0-4ubuntu5 0
        500 http://ar.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ trusty/main amd64 Packages
libopenvg1-mesa:
  Installed: (none)
  Candidate: 10.1.0-4ubuntu6
  Version table:
     1:10.0.4-1~saucy 0
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
     10.1.0-4ubuntu6 0
        500 http://ppa.launchpad.net/wsnipex/mesa/ubuntu/ trusty/main amd64 Packages
     10.1.0-4ubuntu5 0
        500 http://ar.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ trusty/main amd64 Packages
Code:
$ apt-get install libgl1-mesa-glx=10.1.0-4ubuntu6 libglapi-mesa=10.1.0-4ubuntu6 libopenvg1-mesa=10.1.0-4ubuntu6
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,519
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 148
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2949
There already should be 10.1.3 released via ubuntu backports, use those and make sure to upgrade everything that has "saucy" in name, also remove the old libg3dvl2 afterwards, it is superseeded by mesa-vdpau-drivers

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
deivid Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #2950
adding the backports (deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu trusty-backports main restricted universe multiverse ), running update and dist-upgrade didn't upgrade anything after I "upgraded" manually to the trusty version:
Code:
cat /etc/apt/sources.list
deb http://ar.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ trusty main restricted universe multiverse

deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu trusty-backports main restricted universe multiverse
Code:
$ apt-cache policy  libgl1-mesa-glx libglapi-mesa libopenvg1-mesa
libgl1-mesa-glx:
  Installed: 10.1.0-4ubuntu6
  Candidate: 10.1.0-4ubuntu6
  Version table:
*** 10.1.0-4ubuntu6 0
        500 http://ppa.launchpad.net/wsnipex/mesa/ubuntu/ trusty/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
     10.1.0-4ubuntu5 0
        500 http://ar.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ trusty/main amd64 Packages
libglapi-mesa:
  Installed: 10.1.0-4ubuntu6
  Candidate: 10.1.0-4ubuntu6
  Version table:
*** 10.1.0-4ubuntu6 0
        500 http://ppa.launchpad.net/wsnipex/mesa/ubuntu/ trusty/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
     10.1.0-4ubuntu5 0
        500 http://ar.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ trusty/main amd64 Packages
libopenvg1-mesa:
  Installed: (none)
  Candidate: 10.1.0-4ubuntu6
  Version table:
     10.1.0-4ubuntu6 0
        500 http://ppa.launchpad.net/wsnipex/mesa/ubuntu/ trusty/main amd64 Packages
     10.1.0-4ubuntu5 0
        500 http://ar.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ trusty/main amd64 Packages
Code:
dpkg -l | grep mesa
ii  libegl1-mesa:amd64                        10.1.0-4ubuntu6                        amd64        free implementation of the EGL API -- runtime
ii  libgl1-mesa-dri:amd64                     10.1.0-4ubuntu6                        amd64        free implementation of the OpenGL API -- DRI modules
ii  libgl1-mesa-glx:amd64                     10.1.0-4ubuntu6                        amd64        free implementation of the OpenGL API -- GLX runtime
ii  libglapi-mesa:amd64                       10.1.0-4ubuntu6                        amd64        free implementation of the GL API -- shared library
ii  libglu1-mesa:amd64                        9.0.0-2                                amd64        Mesa OpenGL utility library (GLU)
ii  mesa-utils                                8.1.0-2                                amd64        Miscellaneous Mesa GL utilities
ii  mesa-vdpau-drivers:amd64                  10.1.0-4ubuntu6                        amd64        Mesa VDPAU video acceleration drivers
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,519
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 148
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2951
Code:
fritsch@t440s:~$ apt-cache policy mesa-common-dev
mesa-common-dev:
  Installiert:           10.1.3-0ubuntu0.1
  Installationskandidat: 10.1.3-0ubuntu0.1
  Versionstabelle:
*** 10.1.3-0ubuntu0.1 0
        500 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ trusty-updates/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
     10.1.0-4ubuntu5 0
        500 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ trusty/main amd64 Packages

It's in updates, sorry not backports.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
deadite66 Offline
Donor
Posts: 230
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #2952
Audio channel bug fixed in the 23/06/2014 build from fernetmenta-master repo.

i do have another problem from using the master repo, XBMC won't stay on top, i get the blackbox bar at the bottom and the bash window.
it's not persistent, stopping and starting a video will make it come and go.

[Image: IMG_20140624_181522.jpg]

Asus E2KM1I-DELUXE (E2-2000 with HD7340) 60GB SSD + 2TB WD Caviar Green : xubuntu Trusty x64 : 3.14.2, (mythtv 0.27+fixes + 2x PCTV 290e DVB-T2)
Acer aspire revo R3600 Ubuntu Oneiric.
ASRock ION 3D, atom D525/ion2, 2GB ram, 1TB HDD running Ubuntu Precise. - in storage

(This post was last modified: 2014-06-24 19:27 by deadite66.)
find quote
baikun Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #2953
Hi guys, I'm having some problems not directly related to XBMC / Xorg but they started after updating from ubuntu 12.10 to 14.04, installing the Fernetmenta version of XBMC. In fact the problem started when I removed the fglrx driver.
I purged fglrx* packets with apt-get purge, removed xorg.conf file, reinstalled xserver-xorg-core, libgl1-mesa-glx and libgl1-mesa-dri, then finally reconfigured xserver-xorg.
Playback in XBMC on my E-450 is fine, but my resolution is screwed up even on the prompt (I'm not using any GUI). I can't even properly use the prompt on my TV since it's cut I can just see what's in the center of the screen (same for XBMC, it's like it's zoomed on the center of the screen) so I have to use ssh from my laptop.

Do you have any ideas on how to fix this ? I tried by myself for hours without any success Sad
find quote
deadite66 Offline
Donor
Posts: 230
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #2954
(2014-06-29 12:51)baikun Wrote:  Do you have any ideas on how to fix this ?

The dev's will likely want debug logs, see the Trouble shooting section from the first post.

Asus E2KM1I-DELUXE (E2-2000 with HD7340) 60GB SSD + 2TB WD Caviar Green : xubuntu Trusty x64 : 3.14.2, (mythtv 0.27+fixes + 2x PCTV 290e DVB-T2)
Acer aspire revo R3600 Ubuntu Oneiric.
ASRock ION 3D, atom D525/ion2, 2GB ram, 1TB HDD running Ubuntu Precise. - in storage

find quote
baikun Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #2955
(2014-06-29 13:14)deadite66 Wrote:  
(2014-06-29 12:51)baikun Wrote:  Do you have any ideas on how to fix this ?

The dev's will likely want debug logs, see the Trouble shooting section from the first post.

Hi, thanks for the hint but as I stated in my previous comment this is not directly related to xbmc. This looks like the removal of fthe fglrx driver broke something but I don't know what, my screen is stretched out of my monitor even without Xorg launched.
I'll try to see if I can attach some log files.

demsg -> http://paste.ubuntu.com/7720863/
xbmc.log -> http://paste.ubuntu.com/7720873/
Xorg.0.log -> http://paste.ubuntu.com/7720877/
DISPLAY=:0 vdpauinfo -> http://paste.ubuntu.com/7720883/
dpkg -l | grep mesa -> http://paste.ubuntu.com/7720887/
(This post was last modified: 2014-06-29 13:29 by baikun.)
find quote
Post Reply