Linux - Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto)

  Thread Rating:
  • 23 Votes - 4.65 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
laric Offline
Donor
Posts: 112
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #16
(2013-10-03 18:51)locomot1f Wrote:  i just get a whole lot of tearing...

here's my debug log -- http://pastebin.com/EBqDiDZ5

fresh install.
A6-6400

Well it works fine on my a6-3500 which is alot slower...

Did you forget to enable vsync? Got any sample video that is tearing?

If my post helped you then there is a nice x/- button on the bottom of the post.
find quote
theslime Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #17
Great guide!

Is there any way to get a similar minimal install without using the Raring mini.iso?

I'm asking becaue I'm a victim of this ancient and still-unfixed bug, and thus can't install the minimal version of Ubuntu without a convoluted workaround (that will break again with every future kernel update). According to the bug report, most other non-Ubuntu minimal systems are also affected since it's a Linux kernel bug, and I seem to remember Ubuntu Server suffering from the same (although I could be wrong, I only tried the mini.iso this time).

Could one go the opposite route? Paring down Xubuntu/Lubuntu to a pseudo-minimal install after the fact? Or could I just go for the existing XBMCbuntu and update kernel and remove fglrx? My current system (the XBMCbuntu based on 12.04 LTS) was unaffected by the bug when I installed it.
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,444
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 129
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #18
In general: yes. You can for example use Lubuntu 13.04 64 bit installation, but then skip the /etc/init/xbmc.conf as this will interfer with your login manager.

The rest should be straight forward.

The only reason I started with a minimal iso is, that some think they have to use unity ;-) and complain about vsync later on.

Edit: If you choose xbmcbuntu, which is 32 bit - you cannot install the linked kernel.
(This post was last modified: 2013-10-03 21:14 by fritsch.)
find quote
theslime Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #19
Thanks for the quick response! I'll try Lubuntu 64 bit then. Smile
find quote
goldbär Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #20
Hello,

I think I have a problem with my vdpau
Code:
vdpauinfo
display: :0.0   screen: 0
Failed to open VDPAU backend libvdpau_nvidia.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Error creating VDPAU device: 1
No package with "nvidia" in its name is installed at all.
Which package is mising?

When I try to install nvidia-current aptitude wants to remove two packages. I said "n".
Code:
sudo aptitude install nvidia-current
Die folgenden NEUEN Pakete werden zusätzlich installiert:
  nvidia-304{a} nvidia-current nvidia-settings-304{a} python-xkit{a} screen-resolution-extra{a}
Die folgenden Pakete werden ENTFERNT:
  libllvm3.2{u} libwayland0{u}
0 Pakete aktualisiert, 5 zusätzlich installiert, 2 werden entfernt und 0 nicht aktualisiert.
70,0 MB an Archiven müssen heruntergeladen werden. Nach dem Entpacken werden 187 MB zusätzlich belegt sein.

fyi
Code:
lspci | grep -i radeon
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Thames XT [Radeon HD 7670M]

Edit: I removed the two packages with "sudo apt-get autoremove"

But which nvidia-package is missing?
(This post was last modified: 2013-10-03 21:36 by goldbär.)
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,444
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 129
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #21
_don_t install any nvidia binary blob - that is 100% wrong.

You are probably missing:

Code:
sudo apt-get install libg3dvl-mesa vdpauinfo linux-firmware
find quote
bibibo Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #22
Hello, i have still a problem with my VGA. Could someone help me ?

Code:
xbmc@XBMC-NAS:~$ lspci | grep -i radeon
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Wrestler [Radeon HD 6320]

Code:
xbmc@XBMC-NAS:~$ vdpauinfo
vdpauinfo: cannot connect to X server
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,444
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 129
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #23
DISPLAY=:0 vdpauinfo

Please, use basic linux knowledge when typing commands :-)

and provide the logs that I requested in the first post.
find quote
bibibo Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
I am sorry. Linux is not very friendly for me.

Code:
xbmc@XBMC-NAS:~$ DISPLAY=:0 vdpauinfo                                          
display: :0   screen: 0
Failed to open VDPAU backend libvdpau_nvidia.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Error creating VDPAU device: 1
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,444
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 129
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #25
"and provide all the logs that I requested in the first post".
find quote
aix85 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #26
Have the same problem as bibibo.

Code:
xbmc@htpc:~$ vdpauinfo
display: :0   screen: 0
Failed to open VDPAU backend libvdpau_nvidia.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Error creating VDPAU device: 1

I also removed fglrx before following youre guide.

http://paste.ubuntu.com/6189636/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/6189637/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/6189638/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/6189640/
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,444
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 129
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #27
Revove your /etc/X11/xorg.conf

and remove nomodeset from /etc/default/grub and run sudo update-grub afterwards

It is all full of fglrx traces.

Do this and post dmesg | pastebinit again.
find quote
bibibo Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #28
here are my logs

http://paste.ubuntu.com/6189658/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/6189660/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/6189663/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/6189678/
(This post was last modified: 2013-10-03 22:12 by bibibo.)
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,444
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 129
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #29
@bibibo: For you even the kernel radeon driver is not loaded. I think it is blacklisted by an old fglrx installation - Start a new installation following the howto on page 1.

Ressurecting a broken install is not topic of this thread.
find quote
bibibo Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #30
Okay. I understand. Thanks
find quote
Post Reply