Linux - Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto)

  Thread Rating:
  • 23 Votes - 4.65 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,444
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 129
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2956
DISPLAY=:0 /usr/lib/xbmc/xbmc-xrandr | pastebinit

after intial bootup. I think it's an overscan issue. Does the TV switch refreshrates when you switch terminals?

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
Settings missing? Read the FAQ: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBM...otham)_FAQ
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
baikun Online
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #2957
Hi fritsch thank you for helping here's my DISPLAY=:0 /usr/lib/xbmc/xbmc-xrandr -> http://paste.ubuntu.com/7721098/
However I don't understand what you mean by "Does the TV switch refreshrates when you switch terminals" sorry Sad

EDIT: Hey thanks for the heads up I switched my tv to 16:9 instead of automatic, and disabled an option to stretch the display to hide black borders for 16:9 and now it seems just fine! But I think it's still not optimal since I can't use the automatic parameter of my TV
(This post was last modified: 2014-06-29 14:41 by baikun.)
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,444
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 129
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2958
Depending on the brand there is: Just Scan, Fixed or something else option, that will cope with full hd signales correctly. try to check your TV manual.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
Settings missing? Read the FAQ: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBM...otham)_FAQ
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
baikun Online
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #2959
Thanks for take the time to answer my question i'll stick with the 16:9 overscan off as it's perfect Smile thank you so much for the heads up!
find quote
Namerp Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: Saxony
Post: #2960
I have done a test install (trusty minimal + 3.15.2) with my ASRock QC5000 (AMD A4-5000) and it worked like expected flawless.

I got 1 skip / sec at ARD HD - 720p50 with lanczos3, donĀ“t know if it normal !?

At OE 4.0 / 4.2 vdpau with same XBMC settings is unusable (software decode is faster as hardware vdpau). Is that a know problem?
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,444
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 129
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2961
No idea, this howto is not about OpenELEC.

3.15.2 has performance issues with UVD, which I pointed out two pages back and deadite66 provide kernel debs with that specific patch reverted. You should be able to watch 720p50 without any skip.
Edit: Here are these kernels: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...pid1731488

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
Settings missing? Read the FAQ: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBM...otham)_FAQ
No help without a proper Debug Log
(This post was last modified: 2014-06-29 21:39 by fritsch.)
find quote
Questionario Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #2962
I opened a bug for the problem with no sound when forcing the edid with drm_kms_helper: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=80691
find quote
deadite66 Offline
Donor
Posts: 223
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #2963
Made updated debs for kernel v3.15.2 with the UVD revert patch.
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/7618..._amd64.deb
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/7618..._amd64.deb

Asus E2KM1I-DELUXE (E2-2000 with HD7340) 60GB SSD + 2TB WD Caviar Green : xubuntu Trusty x64 : 3.14.2, (mythtv 0.27+fixes + 2x PCTV 290e DVB-T2)
Acer aspire revo R3600 Ubuntu Oneiric.
ASRock ION 3D, atom D525/ion2, 2GB ram, 1TB HDD running Ubuntu Precise. - in storage

find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,444
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 129
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2964
Thx much. I will link them in the howto (2nd Post).

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
Settings missing? Read the FAQ: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBM...otham)_FAQ
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
Spartach Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #2965
kernel v3.15.3
Revert "drm/radeon: use variable UVD clocks"
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,444
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 129
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2966
Cool. Then back to ubuntu mainline.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
Settings missing? Read the FAQ: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBM...otham)_FAQ
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
pyrodex Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 235
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #2967
woot!

Den: Ubuntu 14.04 | AMD A6-3500 | Gotham w/MythTV | Panasonic VT25 50" | Denon AVR-991 | Harmony One | 5.1 Surround Sound
Bedroom: Ubuntu 14.04 | AMD A6-3500 | Gotham w/MythTV | Samsung UN32F6300AF 32" | Harmony 650
NAS: Ubuntu 14.04 | 32TB on Areca 1880 | SMB | Sickbeard | CouchPotato | MySQL DB (XBMC) | MythTV 0.27+fixes w/ 2x HDHomeRun Prime 3CC
find quote
davisdmg Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #2968
hello fritsch, can I use the kernels you posts in ubuntu server 13.10 or I need the last version?
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,444
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 129
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2969
try :-)

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
Settings missing? Read the FAQ: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBM...otham)_FAQ
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
caponater Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #2970
I am having issues with the analog sound not playing on my acer aspire one 522 netbook. I have tried the sound troubleshooting without success.

Here are my logs

http://paste.ubuntu.com/7780584/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7780610/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7780613/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7780617/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7780618/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7780627/
find quote
Post Reply