Linux - Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto)

  Thread Rating:
  • 24 Votes - 4.67 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,542
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 148
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2956
DISPLAY=:0 /usr/lib/xbmc/xbmc-xrandr | pastebinit

after intial bootup. I think it's an overscan issue. Does the TV switch refreshrates when you switch terminals?

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
baikun Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #2957
Hi fritsch thank you for helping here's my DISPLAY=:0 /usr/lib/xbmc/xbmc-xrandr -> http://paste.ubuntu.com/7721098/
However I don't understand what you mean by "Does the TV switch refreshrates when you switch terminals" sorry Sad

EDIT: Hey thanks for the heads up I switched my tv to 16:9 instead of automatic, and disabled an option to stretch the display to hide black borders for 16:9 and now it seems just fine! But I think it's still not optimal since I can't use the automatic parameter of my TV
(This post was last modified: 2014-06-29 14:41 by baikun.)
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,542
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 148
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2958
Depending on the brand there is: Just Scan, Fixed or something else option, that will cope with full hd signales correctly. try to check your TV manual.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
baikun Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #2959
Thanks for take the time to answer my question i'll stick with the 16:9 overscan off as it's perfect Smile thank you so much for the heads up!
find quote
Namerp Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Location: Saxony
Post: #2960
I have done a test install (trusty minimal + 3.15.2) with my ASRock QC5000 (AMD A4-5000) and it worked like expected flawless.

I got 1 skip / sec at ARD HD - 720p50 with lanczos3, donĀ“t know if it normal !?

At OE 4.0 / 4.2 vdpau with same XBMC settings is unusable (software decode is faster as hardware vdpau). Is that a know problem?
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,542
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 148
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2961
No idea, this howto is not about OpenELEC.

3.15.2 has performance issues with UVD, which I pointed out two pages back and deadite66 provide kernel debs with that specific patch reverted. You should be able to watch 720p50 without any skip.
Edit: Here are these kernels: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...pid1731488

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log
(This post was last modified: 2014-06-29 21:39 by fritsch.)
find quote
Questionario Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #2962
I opened a bug for the problem with no sound when forcing the edid with drm_kms_helper: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=80691
find quote
deadite66 Offline
Donor
Posts: 231
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #2963
Made updated debs for kernel v3.15.2 with the UVD revert patch.
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/7618..._amd64.deb
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/7618..._amd64.deb

Asus E2KM1I-DELUXE (E2-2000 with HD7340) 60GB SSD + 2TB WD Caviar Green : xubuntu Trusty x64 : 3.14.2, (mythtv 0.27+fixes + 2x PCTV 290e DVB-T2)
Acer aspire revo R3600 Ubuntu Oneiric.
ASRock ION 3D, atom D525/ion2, 2GB ram, 1TB HDD running Ubuntu Precise. - in storage

find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,542
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 148
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2964
Thx much. I will link them in the howto (2nd Post).

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
Spartach Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #2965
kernel v3.15.3
Revert "drm/radeon: use variable UVD clocks"
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,542
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 148
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2966
Cool. Then back to ubuntu mainline.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
pyrodex Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 247
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #2967
woot!

Den: Ubuntu 14.04 | AMD A6-3500 | Gotham w/MythTV | Panasonic VT25 50" | Denon AVR-991 | Harmony One | 5.1 Surround Sound
Bedroom: Ubuntu 14.04 | AMD A6-3500 | Gotham w/MythTV | Samsung UN32F6300AF 32" | Harmony 650
NAS: Ubuntu 14.04 | 32TB on Areca 1880 | SMB | Sickbeard | CouchPotato | MySQL DB (XBMC) | MythTV 0.27+fixes w/ 2x HDHomeRun Prime 3CC
find quote
davisdmg Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #2968
hello fritsch, can I use the kernels you posts in ubuntu server 13.10 or I need the last version?
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,542
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 148
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2969
try :-)

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
caponater Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #2970
I am having issues with the analog sound not playing on my acer aspire one 522 netbook. I have tried the sound troubleshooting without success.

Here are my logs

http://paste.ubuntu.com/7780584/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7780610/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7780613/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7780617/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7780618/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7780627/
find quote
Post Reply