Linux - Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto)

  Thread Rating:
  • 23 Votes - 4.65 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
FernetMenta Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,039
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 60
Location: Munich
Post: #3031
(2014-07-21 00:08)msfc Wrote:  Problem: No audio when playing 1080p h.264 video with 2 channel adpcm_ima_wav audio. Video is okay. Audio on other videos (mp4, 3gp(?)) is okay. Audio on music files is okay.

This is fixed in 13.2 and Helix alpha
(This post was last modified: 2014-07-21 18:08 by FernetMenta.)
find quote
msfc Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3032
(2014-07-21 17:18)FernetMenta Wrote:  This is fixed in 13.2 of Helix alpha

Thanks for the quick reply. Is "Helix" a typo here? xmbc.org has an announcement about Gotham 13.2 beta1. Is the fix in there?
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,039
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 60
Location: Munich
Post: #3033
"of" was a typo. Helix (master branch) and 13.2 have the fix.
find quote
tomtomme Offline
Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3034
(2014-07-21 16:32)MathewCNichols Wrote:  There is definitely some sort of bug with the kernel and the GPU only detecting 2 channels on HDMI. It's a bug that the AMD proprietary drivers have solved, but of course they don't run VDPAU.

I'm guessing most of the problems referenced in the last page of this thread are related to this multichannel audio detection bug. Then again, I am no dev.

I've gotten a reply on the alsa-devel, but I'm still waiting for a reply from Anssi or another dev though.

http://mailman.alsa-project.org/pipermai...79069.html

Hi Mathew,
the reply was from me Big Grin to just confirm the bug. I am also waiting on a dev-reply.
cheers tomme

Fusion E-350, 4 GB RAM, SSD, openSUSE Tumbleweed 64bit KDE, Mesa-10.2.3, latest stable Kernel, XBMC FernetMenta-Git
find quote
MathewCNichols Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3035
Thank you for the confirmation! Hopefully we hear something back and the issue doesn't go overlooked.

I'm quite close to separating myself from M$!
find quote
Endeavour79 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Location: Sydney, Australia
Post: #3036
Kernel 3.15.6 available

http://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa/mai....6-utopic/
find quote
MathewCNichols Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3037
(2014-07-23 11:30)Endeavour79 Wrote:  Kernel 3.15.6 available

http://kernel.ubuntu.com/~kernel-ppa/mai....6-utopic/

Thanks Endeavour! I've upgraded to the newest kernel. Ubuntu still detects only 2 channel audio.

I'm sure the devs have bigger problems on their plate, but is there anything at all I can do to help out beside running logs? Maybe try implementing patches or something?
(This post was last modified: 2014-07-23 16:16 by MathewCNichols.)
find quote
Endeavour79 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Location: Sydney, Australia
Post: #3038
Sorry, can't help you.

Ask @fritsch or @wsnipex please.

Cheers, End
find quote
lakemalcom Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3039
Can you add a ppa-purge section to the OP? I just ran into the same thing that someone else did way back in May because I just now upgraded from saucy.
find quote
sronx Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3040
Hi, sometimes when I switch from channel 1 to channel 2 it doesn't work: I get a black screen with no sound with the osd showing the channel I want. The workaround is easy: I switch back to 1 (or to any other channel), then I switch again to 2.

Here are the logs:
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7859581/ (it happens at 23:44:18)
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7859586/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7859602/
http://paste.ubuntu.com/7859613/

Is it related to vdpau?
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 3,039
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 60
Location: Munich
Post: #3041
(2014-07-26 00:12)sronx Wrote:  Is it related to vdpau?

very very unlikely. you said you don't get any sound either and this is not related to vdpau. My guess is that is a TVHeadend issue.
find quote
tomtomme Offline
Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3042
Quote:In Linux Mint (with Mate) I stripped out PulseAudio. You can't do this with Cinnamon or the desktop UI won't launch. Then I tried both the ATI proprietary catalyst 14.4 and 14.6 beta drivers. They both will bitstream HD Audio, but they do not accelerate graphics with VDPAU.

How is HDaudio possible with catalyst+pulse? Some months ago it was said, that pulse (nor catalyst) does not support HDaudio formats at least in combination with the OSS drivers. Thus I had to disable pulse in xbmc.
Is this still valid? Was pulse fixed for HDaudio?
Or just in combo with catlyst?

Fusion E-350, 4 GB RAM, SSD, openSUSE Tumbleweed 64bit KDE, Mesa-10.2.3, latest stable Kernel, XBMC FernetMenta-Git
(This post was last modified: Today 15:19 by tomtomme.)
find quote
fritsch Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,462
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 129
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #3043
No. He does not use pulseaudio when doing DTS-HD, he uses ALSA.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
Settings missing? Read the FAQ: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBM...otham)_FAQ
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
xxlsm Online
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Location: Bielefeld
Post: #3044
Hello I have just a comprehension question.
How do you ported Temporal Deinterlacing to the Amd Hardware. The temporal Deinterlacer is a closed source shader program von Nvidia (or am I wrong ?). Did you wrote your own Deinterlacer shader program and named it temporal ? How do you managed that ?

Thanks.
find quote
fritsch Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,462
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 129
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #3045
There is not "the one" Temporal Deinterlacer.

zgreg, a german student, studied literature and came up with state of the art methods that can be used to write a temporal deinterlacer shader. He did this and sent it upstream into mesa.

You can read the code here: https://www.mail-archive.com/mesa-dev@li...53289.html

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
Settings missing? Read the FAQ: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBM...otham)_FAQ
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
Post Reply