Linux - Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto)

  Thread Rating:
  • 24 Votes - 4.67 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
kbios Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3121
(2014-08-25 08:06)fritsch Wrote:  
Quote:A small Mesa patch is needed as well, cause the older hardware doesn't support field based output of video frames. So unfortunately VDPAU/OpenGL interop won't work either.

Oh that's bad - xbmc won't work on that hardware then.

From http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...pid1508789 i got the impression that xbmc could work without gl interop... It isn't true anymore? Thanks
find quote
fritsch Online
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 5,861
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 137
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #3122
No - that post is nearly one year old.

pixmap code has been removed, cause it was not standard conform and used a hack to get the surfaces back.
Edit: Here is the commit: https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/commit/2eb7...f93a8bb301

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
Settings missing? Read the FAQ: http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=XBM...otham)_FAQ
No help without a proper Debug Log
(This post was last modified: 2014-08-25 13:06 by fritsch.)
find quote
thctlo Offline
Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3123
Hello, i want to ask if there are more people with problems with the xbmc remote app on the latest xbmc versions? This started after the updates of 9-15 augustus.
whenever i need to type in search on my xbmc the keyboard pops up on my iphone but i can type what i want but it not recieved on xbmc.
Im running the : xbmc-fernetmenta-master version.
I'm at work atm, just installed de todays version (14.0~git20140825.0500-b9aebeb-0trusty) which i can test tonight.

cat .xbmc/temp/xbmc.log | pastebinit
http://paste.ubuntu.com/8147968/

cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | pastebinit
http://paste.ubuntu.com/8147958/

dmesg | pastebinit
http://paste.ubuntu.com/8147956/

DISPLAY=:0 vdpauinfo | pastebinit
http://paste.ubuntu.com/8147959/

dpkg -l |grep mesa | pastebinit
http://paste.ubuntu.com/8147960/
find quote
locomot1f Online
Posting Freak
Posts: 900
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 8
Location: ohio
Post: #3124
(Yesterday 10:21)thctlo Wrote:  Hello, i want to ask if there are more people with problems with the xbmc remote app on the latest xbmc versions? This started after the updates of 9-15 augustus.
whenever i need to type in search on my xbmc the keyboard pops up on my iphone but i can type what i want but it not recieved on xbmc.
Im running the : xbmc-fernetmenta-master version.
I'm at work atm, just installed de todays version (14.0~git20140825.0500-b9aebeb-0trusty) which i can test tonight.

what skin are you using? try using confluence, if you aren't already.
find quote
thctlo Offline
Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3125
Hi yes, im using confuence. Basicly im running exacly as the howto on page 1 is described.
ios is 7.1.2 and i noticed that in also unable to use airplay.. :-(

anyone any other hint?
find quote
cassperr Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3126
Hi,

I came from the older how to (http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=116996) to this one.
Have been running with this setup quite while now but I see there are new versions of XBMC and Ubuntu.
Is it possible to upgrade to these new versions already? For example; I'm still not able to set a preferred subtitles provider for movies and tv shows.
Just to make sure I'm not understood, I'm running exactly as the first post of this topic describes atm.

Thanks!
find quote
Post Reply