Linux - Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto)

  Thread Rating:
  • 24 Votes - 4.67 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
locomot1f Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 955
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 8
Location: ohio
Post: #3226
I know it's probably way, way off... but this news is nice to hear -- http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=ar...tegy&num=1
find quote
Claudio.Sjo Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 158
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #3227
(2014-10-08 17:02)locomot1f Wrote:  I know it's probably way, way off... but this news is nice to hear -- http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=ar...tegy&num=1

What they could do is to make a reasonable amd control center that allows fine tuning in Linux, the same as they have for Windows.
My experience with a dual boot system was quite strange: once booted Win7, it looks like it's more efficient than Linux in terms of power consumption,
but as soon as I started running "The longest journey" my HTPC became really hot, without any serious reason as the game asks for very little graphic.
Then I played with AMD CCC and set an upper limit to the CPU clock at 2.4GHz, this caused the system to run smoothly and cold.
On the other hand, when playing XBMC on Linux, the CPU clock runs stable at 1.4GHz, even though it appears to be a little warm, probably it's the contribution from GPU.
find quote
Kokos Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #3228
Hello everyone, we're interested in building media centre based on XBMC and ASRock QC5000-ITX/WiFi. Do you have any experience with this setup? Is it still too new to work with XBMC smoothly? It has integrated AMD Radeon HD 8330 Graphics, UVD 4.2. Do we need to use proprietary drivers for this? Thank you for any info, guys.
(This post was last modified: 2014-10-13 15:03 by Kokos.)
find quote
wsnipex Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 3,827
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 94
Post: #3229
HD 8330 works with radeon.
find quote
Kokos Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #3230
Hi wsnipex, thank you very much for your reply. Do you mean by that, that I need to use proprietary drivers for this or I can use this guide and oss drivers built in standard kernel provided by Ubuntu? Thanks for clarification! K
find quote
FernetMenta Online
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,445
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 67
Location: Munich
Post: #3231
XBMC has never supported this fglrx crap officially. wsnipex says that radeon open source driver supports HD8330.
find quote
Kokos Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #3232
Thanks guys!
find quote
davisdmg Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3233
Hello! I messed up upgrading from 13.10 to 14.04 Sad

After the upgrade, all went fine, then I did a apt-get dist-upgrade and now I think I dont have graphic aceleration...I have an amd apu a4-5300

Edit, nevermind. I read a comment with the solution

aptitude xserver-xorg-video-ati (and choose to downgrade)

Big Grin
(This post was last modified: 2014-10-21 01:18 by davisdmg.)
find quote
pyrodex Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 247
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #3234
Any key improvements in the upcoming 3.18 Kernel linux from a DRM/Radeon perspective if someone is already running 3.17?

Den: Ubuntu 14.04 | AMD A6-3500 | Gotham w/MythTV | Panasonic VT25 50" | Denon AVR-991 | Harmony One | 5.1 Surround Sound
Bedroom: Ubuntu 14.04 | AMD A6-3500 | Gotham w/MythTV | Samsung UN32F6300AF 32" | Harmony 650
NAS: Ubuntu 14.04 | 32TB on Areca 1880 | SMB | Sickbeard | CouchPotato | MySQL DB (XBMC) | MythTV 0.27+fixes w/ 2x HDHomeRun Prime 3CC
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,519
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 148
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #3235
HDMI Audio fixes - nothing else that I spotted.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log
find quote
Post Reply