.MKV Playback Issues
Good morning everyone.
I first want to say that I am fairly new to XBMC. I have used it some in the past, but very little. I've been living in Plex world for the past few years, but now I want more and I built a HTPC.

Specs:
Chassis: IN WIN BP655.300TB3L
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-F2A85XN-WIFI
CPU: AMD A4-4000
RAM: Mushkin Enhanced Redline 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1866
HDD: 250GB WD Blue 2.5" SATA
Controller: Esky Mini i8 2.4GHz

I am connected via WiFi, with the built-in on the motherboard. My WAP is a Unifi AP (802.11n), and my connect signal is a 5/5 bars according to Windows. With XBMC (12.2), playback is fine with 480p AVI files (which I have very few of). Most of my content is 720p or 1080p .MKV files, with a mix of DTS and AAC audio. When I try to play a 720p .MKV file, XBMC stutters bad. Right from the start, it is stuttering. So bad that I don't hear any audio (where as the 480p is fine with video and audio). It's almost like the playback speed was set to 0.25x, instead of normal 1x. CPU utilization is around 30% when playing these 720p MKVs, but I have not checked the framerate (forgot).

In Windows, I can play the same 720p MKV file via VLC over the network without a problem. Starts instantly, no lag, and CPU is pretty low. So this leave me to believe it has something to do with XBMC settings, but again -- I'm fairly new to XBMC. I found this thread:
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=146911

And Section 5: has pointed out the Video Playback settings which I have not touched. Is this where I need to look? Is there something else I should be looking for?

Very basic A/V setup:
HTPC > Sony HT-CT150 (via HDMI) > Philips 47" LCD 120Hz (via HDMI)

XBMC is full screen with resolution of 1920x1080p

Ideas?

Thanks!
Have you checked the "Windows HOW TO - Solve audio problems + video stutter (audio induced)" sticky thread at the top of this section?