Problem with AAC audio when format changes

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
noggin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 991
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 26
Location: United Kingdom
Post: #1
Hi all

Apologies if this is in the wrong forum or has been logged elsewhere.

I'm running a recent version of OpenElec with TV Headend and a PCTV 290e DVB-T2 tuner for Live TV. In the UK we use AAC audio for HD DVB-T2 broadcasts, and the format will switch between 2.0 and 5.1 (or 5.0 or 4.1?) on a show-by-show basis.

If recordings made with TV Headend (MKV format) have a format change during the recording, XBMC doesn't recognise the change in format, and you get silence after the format change it seems.

Is this a limitation of XBMC or the MKV wrapper? I will try switching to .TS as the recording format to try (but not sure how much 5.1 content there is on a Sunday to watch for the format change.)
(This post was last modified: 2013-10-06 13:31 by noggin.)
find quote
negge Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,357
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 25
Location: Finland
Post: #2
Can't be bothered to dig up the link but there's a long thread on tvheadend's bug tracker about this. The problem is the MKV container and switching to TS should do the trick.
find quote
noggin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 991
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 26
Location: United Kingdom
Post: #3
(2013-10-06 23:23)negge Wrote:  Can't be bothered to dig up the link but there's a long thread on tvheadend's bug tracker about this. The problem is the MKV container and switching to TS should do the trick.

Cheers - though that might be the case. I guess MKV wrappers, understandably for most situations, expect a track to remain in a fixed format.
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 9,072
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 164
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #4
TS is a broadcast format, and should cope with this. Well obviously it does, or it wouldn't work for anyone in the UK Smile

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
beldeche Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Shouldn't have post here but can't delete my message
(This post was last modified: 2013-10-07 11:38 by beldeche.)
find quote