AMD A6-3620 up to the task?
Hi,

I've got XBMC running on my Raspberry Pi but want to take the plunge and upgrade to a proper system.

I've done lots of searching around trying to find a capable system for little money (quite hard to justify a large price tag).

I've stumbled on a system which appears to be good specs and a great price but I have very little experience with AMD. I've searched around and can't find anything about this particular CPU.

CPU : AMD A-Series A6-3620 QC 2.2GHz
Graphics : AMD Radeon HD6530D.

£279.99
http://www.ebuyer.com/519352-acer-aspire...-slhek-003

What do you guys think? Is this a good spec or would i benefit paying a bit more and upgrading to something like an i3?

Thanks,
Jon
If you want to improve on Raspberry Pi - but only really want to use XBMC still - then that may be overkill.

Have a look at the Celeron 1007U Revo RL80 from eBuyer. £129 after Cashback. I'm running mine and it's pretty nippy. Aeon Nox may not be quite as fluid as it is on my Core i5+nVidia build - but it's streets ahead of the standard Pi and still very nice to use. Confluence is incredibly fluid. (The Revo has USB 3.0, integrated WiFi, 500GB HD, 2GB RAM, HDMI with HD Audio bitstreaming, Toslink etc. It has pretty much everything you could need)

However there are also some developments in Rasp Pi land that are speeding up the Pi quite a bit as well. Running it from a USB stick rather than SD card can make it nippier, and there are some optimisations being made that really improve the experience by all accounts.
Thanks for your reply noggin.

You're right. I don't want to do any 'clever' stuff, just play HD x264 files. When I buy tech, I do usually prefer to over spec a slight bit so it's still satisfactory if I decide I want to do more on it.

The Revo does look quite tempting, however. I'll add it to my considerations.

noggin, did you experience any issues setting up on the RL80? I've found this thread with a few people having issues.