xbmc for Dreambox

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
hollander95 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
hey guys i have a dreambox hd800 pvr and need to instal xbmc please someone can tel me how.
find quote
drivesoslow Offline
Fan
Posts: 473
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 5
Post: #2
The 300Mhz MIPS processor alone is going to prevent you from running XBMC
find quote
artrafael Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator
Posts: 6,352
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 113
Location: USA
Post: #3
(2013-10-16 22:54)hollander95 Wrote:  hey guys i have a dreambox hd800 pvr and need to instal xbmc please someone can tel me how.

See if you can sell it and use the proceeds toward new hardware that will run XBMC.
find quote
hollander95 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
thanks ,but what is solution?
find quote
artrafael Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator
Posts: 6,352
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 113
Location: USA
Post: #5
That is the solution. It won't install/run on your current device, so if you want to run XBMC, you'll need to obtain another device that is compatible with XBMC. Since you want your current device play a role in your running XBMC, the only option I see where it can contribute toward that goal is for you sell it to obtain some cash that you can use toward the purchase of a compatible device. Otherwise, just keep your Dreambox HD800 PVR for its current purpose and buy another one for XBMC (a Raspberry Pi is only $35).
(This post was last modified: 2013-10-16 23:36 by artrafael.)
find quote
hollander95 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
thanks lot brother,what kind processor is ok to play xbmc? 400Mhz is ok?because dm800se has 400 Mhz i think also
find quote
artrafael Offline
Team-XBMC Forum Moderator
Posts: 6,352
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 113
Location: USA
Post: #7
No, you can't run XBMC on that either. However, you might(?) be able to use your current device as a Live TV/PVR backend for XBMC running on another, compatible, device. So that's another possible(?) use for your Dreambox HD800 in your home theatre setup. Bottom line is you still need some other computer or compatible device (e.g., Android) on which you can install and run XBMC.
find quote
negge Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,305
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 25
Location: Finland
Post: #8
It's not so much about the processor speed as it's about the fact that XBMC hasn't been ported to the architecture used in Dreamboxes (varies from PPC to MIPS).
find quote
Dam0 Offline
Fan
Posts: 439
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
while there is a marysis(spelling sorry) sat stb running modified xbmc for everything, this will not currently run on your hardware.

however, you can install the VU+ PVR addon, and stream channels from your "enigma" running dreamboxes.

so, you need 2 x pieces of hardware...

1) media playback device(raspberry pi has been suggested) running VU+ addon

2) your dreambox to stream the dvb-s(2) thru your network, to all of your media playback devices.

i hope this helps,
D.
find quote
rhurbarb Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Working fine here on dreambox 800 hd
find quote
Okmudazkeyz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
What do you mean? Can you strean yourlocal media?
find quote
rhurbarb Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
You can stream films from xbmc straight to the dreambox without using your pc....[/i]
(This post was last modified: 2013-12-01 11:22 by rhurbarb.)
find quote
soldierj Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
(2013-11-27 22:17)rhurbarb Wrote:  Working fine here on dreambox 800 hd

Can you please how did you install xbmc on dreambox ... ?
Thanks
find quote
rhurbarb Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Just google it .then follow the instructions
find quote
Satarno Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
rhurbarb,

Can you help me?
Please give us the *.ipk file.

Thanks.
find quote
Post Reply