PleXBMC add-on / skin integration support

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
pecinko Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,805
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 51
Location: Prague / Belgrade
Post: #256
(2014-09-15 03:16)jumblekn Wrote:  Thanks puithove and pecinko for the replies. The use case is to combine my local media which is on Plex with streaming sources like Netflix, Amazon, and Vudu.

In that case I'm not sure where the problem is since you have access to all XBMC add ons when in GoPlex mode. You can even make your own add on shelf by assigning your fav add ons to it in skin settings?

My skins:

Amber
Quartz

find quote
jumblekn Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #257
Sorry it has taken me so long to get back on this. I have been having some stability issues with PlexBMC and I have been trying to figure out what is causing it. I didn't sleep much last night, but I learned some fairly interesting things about my network, like the fact that the wireless extender I have my HTPC hooked up to is assigning it a virtual MAC address.

(2014-09-13 14:19)puithove Wrote:  Just browse to whatever node in the PleXBMC add-on you want (must be in Go XBMC mode), open the context menu, and add it to Favorites. Then in the Amber skin settings, you can add that favorite in as one of the empty Home Menu entry items - only Favorites can be added in this way.

For some reason, when I pull up the context menu on a Plex Library in XBMC mode I do not get the option to add to favorites. This could be related to my previously mentioned PlexBMC stability issues, or it could be user error. Either way, not a big deal because I got the alternative working.

(2014-09-13 17:36)pecinko Wrote:  As already mentioned, you can either add XBMC or Plex sections as a custom menu items in skin settings via favorites...

I was able to add a upnp source (Netflix via PlayOn) as a favorite in XBMC, add this to the skin home menu open slot, and have it show up in the menu in Plex mode. Thanks for the suggestion. I honestly had not tried this before because I made an assumption when the "Movies" menu item from XBMC did not show up in Plex mode, that none of them would. You know what they say about assumptions.

(2014-09-15 10:38)pecinko Wrote:  In that case I'm not sure where the problem is since you have access to all XBMC add ons when in GoPlex mode. You can even make your own add on shelf by assigning your fav add ons to it in skin settings?

I will have to attempt making an add on shelf next.

Thanks again to all for all the help!
find quote
cpaowner Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #258
First off thanks for the great skin. I use it on all my boxes around the house! Unfortunately I'm having one small issue. I use the latest PleXBMC beta with SPMC + Amber on the Fire TV. I'm having an issue with the recently added/recently aired menus from the main menu. The first time i load this menu it will load fine and will be up to date. However, after adding more content to my library and going back to this menu it seems like its cached with old data. I can get to the updated recently added by clicking on Movies then going to recently added, however the main menu recently added is still the same old cached version. I've been trying to figure it out, but I am unable to do so. Is this by design or is it some type of bug? This happens on both my fire TV and ouya so it may be an issue with the skin with android.
The "shelf" recently added items and on deck items are always correctly up to date and they update every once in a while, however the recently added from the main menu seems to be cached forever. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks a bunch!

EDIT:
Also just wanted to note that I'm using the latest SPMC gotham version.

EDIT2:
Did a bit more testing. It seems this bug happens on my ATV2 as well, so this is not related to android. My ATV2 runs on frodo 12.3 so it can't be gotham or frodo related. I'm guessing there is a bug in the skin or plexbmc.

Also have tested multiple versions of PMS and there is no change.

EDIT3:
Just to be thorough I wanted to note that this DOES NOT occur on my windows/mac based xbmc clients and the recently added section refreshes as it should.
(This post was last modified: 2014-09-29 02:15 by cpaowner.)
find quote
pecinko Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,805
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 51
Location: Prague / Belgrade
Post: #259
Thanks for the kind words Smile

As for the problem - it is not skin related so there's little I can do to help. IMHO, bug is somewhere in XBMC as it looks like your Win/Mac is performing differently than ATV & FTV. Plexbmc can be forced into non-caching mode which will theoretically work around this problem but with a speed penalty as ALL sections will be loading without caching of any kind.

My skins:

Amber
Quartz

find quote
cpaowner Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #260
It's a very strange issue. I've also noticed that if you go from recently added -> recently viewed -> recently added on the main menu it still has "recently viewed shows" at the top with the same old cached version of recently added. I tried from your old quartz skin and it always refreshes properly, but then again theres no button for recently added on the main menu. As for disabling caching it doesn't seem to make a difference, and since I can replicate the issue across both frodo and gotham I feel like it may be a plugin issue and/or skin issue. I've tried the XBM3C plugin for some media browser 3 skins and they seem to update properly, so perhaps there is a regression somewhere. I'm poking around with the skin and seeing if I can figure it out, thanks for your insights into the issue Smile. If you have an atv/android device would be great to hear if you can replicate this issue. Thanks!
find quote
pecinko Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,805
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 51
Location: Prague / Belgrade
Post: #261
You are probably wasting your time as this is not a skin issue. As for disabling cache, it has to be done in script code, script settings cache is used for something different than your issue here.

My skins:

Amber
Quartz

(This post was last modified: Yesterday 07:55 by pecinko.)
find quote
Post Reply