Intel NUC - HTPC (Haswell Late 2013 edition)

  Thread Rating:
  • 7 Votes - 4.86 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
IBTB Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Location: Norway
Post: #2881
One thing is to load it to the max. Another thing is to have the possibility to load it to the max.
If you use a more lightweight torrent program, you will still have the same powerful machine, but it won't run on 100% load all the time, meaning more resources are avalible for other tasks (for example XBMC).

I would be abit careful with both of your options mentioned if you plan having the NUC run on max load all the time.
Atleast pay attention to the temperatures (and compare them to the temperatures the NUC can handle mentioned in the documentation).
find quote
nickr Offline
Donor
Posts: 6,244
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 103
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #2882
If your torrent program is maxing out your CPU, you have the wrong torrent program. Except during hashing, it should use next to no Cpu. Mine is using under 1% CPU and 6%ram and I am seeding 331 torrents.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-21 12:52 by nickr.)
find quote
macmus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #2883
how to check if I have HW or SW acceleration on my i5 NUC ?
find quote
-DDD- Online
Senior Member
Posts: 227
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 6
Post: #2884
i think you should see vaapi here
http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...#pid521081

| myHTPC |
find quote
macmus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #2885
Thanks for being so helpful so far Smile

I have another question. Most of the movies are played in my case in PCM 5.1.
this is fine thia just means that nic is doing transcoding, but i would like that my avr do themcoding in dts or dd.
Is there a way to passthough audio in xmbc to my avr ?
In short i want to have a dd//dts icon liten on my avr.

In windows i rember i did thatsomewhere in codec setting, but i don't know how to do it in xbmc
find quote
frarev Offline
Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #2886
(2014-04-21 23:33)macmus Wrote:  Thanks for being so helpful so far Smile

I have another question. Most of the movies are played in my case in PCM 5.1.
this is fine thia just means that nic is doing transcoding, but i would like that my avr do themcoding in dts or dd.
Is there a way to passthough audio in xmbc to my avr ?
In short i want to have a dd//dts icon liten on my avr.

In windows i rember i did thatsomewhere in codec setting, but i don't know how to do it in xbmc

Go to expert mode in audio system. And activate passtrough for dd and dts
find quote
macmus Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #2887
Thanks!

I did enable passthough and usages of CPU on XBMC went down from 20% to 3% while playing movies Big Grin

Additionally I did decrease in bios setting to 18% AUTO for fan.
I did enables OS SW managment of voltage in bios downloaded Intel Extreme Tune and decreased voltage on cache -100mv and cache -100mv, so far is very stable.
Also decrease max watage to 30W (multipler is not possible to change but i assume when i change TPD to 30W that means x is also being limited)

Now temps are ~60 with 1,8RPM on fan, which means silent quite.

Do you know how to change this setting directly in BIOS not in IEU ?
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-22 05:41 by macmus.)
find quote
Nellgrove Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #2888
Hi. Has black crush been fixed on these with openelec now? Is this an issue with a Windows 8 XBMC build?
find quote
Peppin Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 1
Post: #2889
(Yesterday 14:04)Nellgrove Wrote:  Hi. Has black crush been fixed on these with openelec now? Is this an issue with a Windows 8 XBMC build?
Has been fixed long time ago.
find quote
Post Reply