Intel NUC - HTPC (Haswell Late 2013 edition)

  Thread Rating:
  • 7 Votes - 4.86 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Matt Devo Online
Fan
Posts: 682
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 41
Post: #3406
fair enough.

FWIW, I have both the i3 and celeron ChromeBoxes, and the only difference I've found so far is slightly lower CPU usage on the i3 for Hi-10 playback, but neither drops frames or stutters, so pretty much equivalent IMO. I have not extensively tested resource-heavy skins to see if there's a difference there however.

XBMC on a ChromeBox?

Check out the wiki and my EZ install script

[Image: btn_donate_SM.gif]

find quote
noggin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 771
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 22
Post: #3407
(2014-07-29 19:38)Matt Devo Wrote:  
(2014-07-29 19:35)voip-ninja Wrote:  Thanks, and I think you did a good job of doing that. I think the i3 vs Celeron is slightly more "future proof" although that might not matter at all with the trend for XBMC towards lighter/cheaper and less capable boxes like FireTV and Raspberry Pi where users don't care about full codec support and true 1080p playback capability.

in terms of video decoding, there's no much (any?) difference between the HD4000 and HD4400, outside of 4K. The real issue is neither can (HW) decode x.265, so once XBMC starts supporting that, CPU power for software decoding will become relevant.

I'm in a minority - but I went for the i5 NUC for my main HTPC rather than a Celeron or i3 because I needed 4:2:2 H264 multithreaded software decoding of 1080/50i - and I wasn't convinced the i3 would be up to it.

When it comes to H265 HEVC 4K - the 2160/59.94p and 2160/50p stuff currently being broadcast OTA in the UK pushes my over clocked (4GHz) i7-2600K to the limits (it can do a crop but can't quite do a real-time scale to 1080p) using an OpenHEVC fork of ffplay (which is more efficient on Intel CPUs than standard ffmpeg AIUI) Obviously 2160/23.976p stuff will take less CPU - but at the moment I don't have access to those sources.
(This post was last modified: 2014-07-29 19:48 by noggin.)
find quote
voip-ninja Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,052
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 20
Post: #3408
We are going to need hardware decoding of H265 and that's probably still a couple of years away from being affordable enough for the type of stuff us XBMC people are doing.
find quote
Pheran Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #3409
Just built my i5 NUC for HTPC - experimenting with OpenELEC now. I'm super excited about this, but I can already see that I'm going to need a NAS pretty soon. Tongue
find quote
nickr Offline
Donor
Posts: 7,569
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 129
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #3410
(2014-07-29 19:57)voip-ninja Wrote:  We are going to need hardware decoding of H265 and that's probably still a couple of years away from being affordable enough for the type of stuff us XBMC people are doing.

Phoronix says that the next gen of nVidia cards will support HEVC decoding through VDPAU.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
speedway Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Feb 2005
Reputation: 0
Location: Belgium
Post: #3411
(2014-07-28 16:36)live4ever Wrote:  Anyone test the new v27 of the BIOS?

Does it fix the boot issue when a USB3 drive is attached?
https://communities.intel.com/thread/46549

I would stay away from it ... after updating to this version, power on via IR is not working anymore while it should fix it !
Now I need to manually push the power button to enjoy OpenELEC ..

EDIT: I jumped from v25 to v27. Downgrading to v26 is still no solution :-( I'll hope returning to v25 solves my problem...
EDIT2: jumping back to v25 did not solve it ... will try to clear CMOS.
EDIT3: back on v27, but MCE doesn't work, I had to switch to XBOX360 remote. Now I can powertoggle my NUC on/off. Very strange ... it's IR-remote related.

Intel NUC BOXD34010WYK2 / Intel mSata 525 30GB / Kingston 8 GB / Intel 7260hmw
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 18:54 by speedway.)
find quote
Nafi Online
Junior Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Location: Germany
Post: #3412
i updated to v27 bios and don't have any issue with IR power on
find quote
sraptor Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #3413
Do you know if you can power on nuc from flirc?
find quote
noggin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 771
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 22
Post: #3414
(Yesterday 18:25)sraptor Wrote:  Do you know if you can power on nuc from flirc?

No - but why use a FLIRC on a Haswell NUC? It has IR built in. Or am I missing something?
find quote
Post Reply