Testers wanted: XBMC v12.3 testing

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Dilligaf Offline
Fan
Posts: 739
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 29
Post: #31
Try renaming "C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\XBMC" then starting xbmc, once running you can copy back data from the renamed folder to the new .xbmc folder a little at a time restarting xbmc, hopefully you'll discover what it is crashing on

If I have been of help, please add to my reputation as a way of saying thanks, it's free.
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,228
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 177
Post: #32
@Ardalista: Please revert to confluence and make sure it works then. You need to try and help debug by getting rid of some of the services you're running (e.g. next aired) and the like.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
rebel4life63 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #33
hello i would like to be a beta tester just a question ok does this work with WIN 8.1 and does this software need other software to be installed
find quote
Ardalista Offline
Donor
Posts: 421
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 235
Location: New Zealand
Post: #34
Disabled all addon's and reverted to confluence.

reinstalled update

still crashed on load

so renamed xbmc folder to xbmc.old

loaded ok

as soon as I added my advancedsettings.xml file it crashed again

Pastebin on base install with advanced settings added

Main = Intel 37770k - Win 8.1 x64 | Office PC = Intel Q6600 - Win 7 x64 | HTPC = Intel NUC - Ubuntu 14.10 | Tablet = Nexus 7 (2013) - Android 4.4.4 All running Gotham 13.2
Server = Dell Powededge 2850 - Ubuntu Server 14.04 - MySQL, SABNZBD+, Couchpotato, Sickbeard, Apache | NAS #1 = D-link DNS-320L w 2 x 3TB HDD Raid 0 | NAS #2 = D-link DNS-320L w 2 x 3TB HDD Raid 0
(This post was last modified: 2013-11-03 02:49 by Ardalista.)
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,228
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 177
Post: #35
Please pastebin your advancedsettings.xml file.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
Ardalista Offline
Donor
Posts: 421
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 235
Location: New Zealand
Post: #36
(2013-11-03 02:49)jmarshall Wrote:  Please pastebin your advancedsettings.xml file.

Here you go

Advancedsettings.xml

Main = Intel 37770k - Win 8.1 x64 | Office PC = Intel Q6600 - Win 7 x64 | HTPC = Intel NUC - Ubuntu 14.10 | Tablet = Nexus 7 (2013) - Android 4.4.4 All running Gotham 13.2
Server = Dell Powededge 2850 - Ubuntu Server 14.04 - MySQL, SABNZBD+, Couchpotato, Sickbeard, Apache | NAS #1 = D-link DNS-320L w 2 x 3TB HDD Raid 0 | NAS #2 = D-link DNS-320L w 2 x 3TB HDD Raid 0
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,228
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 177
Post: #37
Thanks. Can you please try to comment out the mysql stuff and see if it works?

If it does, comment out only for music and only for video in turn, see if one of them is the problem only.

Thanks!
Jonathan

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
Ardalista Offline
Donor
Posts: 421
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 235
Location: New Zealand
Post: #38
(2013-11-03 02:55)jmarshall Wrote:  Thanks. Can you please try to comment out the mysql stuff and see if it works?

If it does, comment out only for music and only for video in turn, see if one of them is the problem only.

Thanks!
Jonathan

only video = crash

only music = loads ok

If it helps I don't actually have any music imported into the database.

The database is stored on a Dell Poweredge 2850
2GB Ram
Running Ubuntu Server 12.04
MySQL Client 5.5.34

Main = Intel 37770k - Win 8.1 x64 | Office PC = Intel Q6600 - Win 7 x64 | HTPC = Intel NUC - Ubuntu 14.10 | Tablet = Nexus 7 (2013) - Android 4.4.4 All running Gotham 13.2
Server = Dell Powededge 2850 - Ubuntu Server 14.04 - MySQL, SABNZBD+, Couchpotato, Sickbeard, Apache | NAS #1 = D-link DNS-320L w 2 x 3TB HDD Raid 0 | NAS #2 = D-link DNS-320L w 2 x 3TB HDD Raid 0
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,228
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 177
Post: #39
So the music is the one causing the problem?

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
Ardalista Offline
Donor
Posts: 421
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 235
Location: New Zealand
Post: #40
no

if i leave the music reference in the advancedsettings file xbmc will load without problems

it's only when the video stuff is there it will crash

Main = Intel 37770k - Win 8.1 x64 | Office PC = Intel Q6600 - Win 7 x64 | HTPC = Intel NUC - Ubuntu 14.10 | Tablet = Nexus 7 (2013) - Android 4.4.4 All running Gotham 13.2
Server = Dell Powededge 2850 - Ubuntu Server 14.04 - MySQL, SABNZBD+, Couchpotato, Sickbeard, Apache | NAS #1 = D-link DNS-320L w 2 x 3TB HDD Raid 0 | NAS #2 = D-link DNS-320L w 2 x 3TB HDD Raid 0
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,228
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 177
Post: #41
Thanks for your patience - we're narrowing things down.

I wonder if the problem is that file there... Try removing "Misfits - S05E02 - Episode Two.mp4" from your video library (under 12.2) and see if that fixes it under 12.3.

If it does, add the file back in under 12.2 and grab a Debug Log of that one running.

Cheers,
Jonathan

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
Ardalista Offline
Donor
Posts: 421
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 235
Location: New Zealand
Post: #42
Ok so I loaded 12.2 removed "Misfits - S05E02 - Episode Two.mp4" from the library then reinstalled 12.3

Before launching I renamed xbmc under appdata folder to xbmc.old

I launched xbmc to create the new xbmc folder then closed xbmc

I copied advancedsettings.xml to the new xbmc user settings folder

loaded xbmc but it crashed again

debug log from 12.3

Were you also wanting a debug log from 12.2 where it all works ok??

Main = Intel 37770k - Win 8.1 x64 | Office PC = Intel Q6600 - Win 7 x64 | HTPC = Intel NUC - Ubuntu 14.10 | Tablet = Nexus 7 (2013) - Android 4.4.4 All running Gotham 13.2
Server = Dell Powededge 2850 - Ubuntu Server 14.04 - MySQL, SABNZBD+, Couchpotato, Sickbeard, Apache | NAS #1 = D-link DNS-320L w 2 x 3TB HDD Raid 0 | NAS #2 = D-link DNS-320L w 2 x 3TB HDD Raid 0
(This post was last modified: 2013-11-03 04:57 by Ardalista.)
find quote
Dilligaf Offline
Fan
Posts: 739
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 29
Post: #43
@Ardalista do you have any compressed files (.rar .zip) in your library? Perhaps subtitles files, if you do try removing them or unpacking them and remove the packed file.

If I have been of help, please add to my reputation as a way of saying thanks, it's free.
find quote
Ardalista Offline
Donor
Posts: 421
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 235
Location: New Zealand
Post: #44
(2013-11-03 05:47)Dilligaf Wrote:  @Ardalista do you have any compressed files (.rar .zip) in your library? Perhaps subtitles files, if you do try removing them or unpacking them and remove the packed file.

I think I might have 1 rar file but there is no reference to it when I examine the logs from either version of xbmc there are also scattered SRT files in movie folders. Too many for me to try this suggestion right now however I might look in trying some further testing tomorrow after work.

Main = Intel 37770k - Win 8.1 x64 | Office PC = Intel Q6600 - Win 7 x64 | HTPC = Intel NUC - Ubuntu 14.10 | Tablet = Nexus 7 (2013) - Android 4.4.4 All running Gotham 13.2
Server = Dell Powededge 2850 - Ubuntu Server 14.04 - MySQL, SABNZBD+, Couchpotato, Sickbeard, Apache | NAS #1 = D-link DNS-320L w 2 x 3TB HDD Raid 0 | NAS #2 = D-link DNS-320L w 2 x 3TB HDD Raid 0
find quote
Dilligaf Offline
Fan
Posts: 739
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 29
Post: #45
The srt files should be fine, the rar could be causing problems, I just mentioned subs since typically these are what arer in the rar files. Other than that you could try deleting the MySql stuff from advancedsettings and then scanning your library locally, then the logs may show what file xbmc is choking on.

If I have been of help, please add to my reputation as a way of saying thanks, it's free.
find quote
Post Reply