dropping samba shares
I'm running OE 3.2.3 (with Frodo 12.2) so I'm not sure I'll get much help here but I thought I'd try.

I have a samba share on my windows 7 computer. After coming out of suspend my OE box seems to drop my SAMBA share. Playing any file gives me a message saying the file is unavailable. If I drop out of the library and use the FILES listing I get a message saying either:
"error, connection timed out"
or
"remote share, could not connect to network server"
or
"remote share, path not found or invalid"

If I try to add a new source and select BROWSE/WINDOWS NETWORK I don't see my workgroup.
(my PC is NOT on the workgroup called WORKGROUP).

If I go to SETTING/NETWORK/SMB CLIENT my workgroup name is correct (ie it matches my PC).

I can see the windows 7 share on my other computers (OSX)

I've even tried using the IP address of the win7 computer.

The only thing that resolves this is to reboot my windows 7 computer. However the next time I put my OE into suspend the share is lost again.

Anyone have any ideas?
Yes, try to restart networking on the OE box after resuming, if this corrects the issues then you know that the networking service is not restarting properly on resume (old problem in Linux generally speaking) , tbh there's likely no solution in OE because its config files are locked from user Youd need to patch OE source code and recompile), but Regular Linux you make a restart networking on resume script and thats well documented on the interwebs.
(2013-10-30, 20:03)uNiversal Wrote: Yes, try to restart networking on the OE box after resuming, if this corrects the issues then you know that the networking service is not restarting properly on resume (old problem in Linux generally speaking) , tbh there's likely no solution in OE because its config files are locked from user Youd need to patch OE source code and recompile), but Regular Linux you make a restart networking on resume script and thats well documented on the interwebs.