xbmc/htpc newbie, open to suggestions
salute to the forum,

i'm a newbie to the xbmc/htpc. i've been checking out different options here and there over the passed year or so, but i'm really eager to cut the cord with my cable provider (except for internet) and considering streaming (and recording) live tv/movies.

with all the options that's out there i'm having a hard time deciding which options would best fit my home.
so i'm trying to provide my wishlist of what features i'd like to have and maybe yall could point me in the right direction.

i have 3 tvs (living room, bedroom, kids room) that i would like to have setup to stream over the net.

i would like to be able stream and record live tv in the living room and bedroom (kids don't need to record, but at least be able to watch live tv

HD tv (720 and/or 1080 would be fine)
play regular DVDs (not doing the blueray or 3D films)

have separate storage to save movies and tv shows (considering a nas or a storage hard drive in a htpc build)

utilize netflix and hulu or any other tv/movie apps

my boys have the Xbox 360 and i hear that can be used to watch live tv and watch movies, so i'm really considering using it being it's a gaming console.

i'm open to all suggestions. definitely lookin for the most cost effective setup but would prefer something that would allow to expand and build on as needs demands it without having to start over.

ideally i'd like to invest no more than about $400 per tv (what i would considering spending for htpc barebone build) but if the best arrangement may cost more, at least i know what to save up for.

should i be lookin more towards building an htpc? one of these streaming media boxes?

i'll continue searchin thru the forums to find more alternatives and setups that might fit my needs

all recommendations are appreciated. thank you.
So that is a long laundry list and probably the reason most people look to get rid of their provider so here are a few tips.