New Harmony Smart Control Remote

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
furii Offline
Fan
Posts: 479
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 10
Post: #211
(2014-08-09 16:31)ben81 Wrote:  Can anyone tell me how the response times are compared to the Harmony Touch? Even with all delays set to zero there's still lag left (200-250ms) that just won't go away. Harmony remotes without display seem to have much better response times (650 for example) - how does this one compare? Thanks!

i would estimate it's 100ms or less for IR. if you connect via bluetooth it's instantaneous. i have had a problem with openelec 4.x needing to repair the bluetooth connection that was no an issue with 3.x so i've dropped back to IR. logitech just released a keyboard addon that comes with two usb dongles that i'm going to give a try. the question is whether you can assign keyboard commands to the remote.
find quote
zag Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,739
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 20
Location: UK
Post: #212
The smart control has no delay that I can tell.

HTPC - XBMC Gotham, OpenELEC, Harmony Smart Remote, Intel Haswell NUC, 40gb intel SSD, Core i3, 4gb RAM
Storage - 2 x qnap 8tb 419p+ NAS
Display LG 46" LCD + Casio Bulbless projector [PICS]
[Image: widget]
find quote
bobones Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 3
Post: #213
I took a punt on one of these the other day @ £69.99 from PC World/Currys. OMG what a superb piece of kit. I was getting fed up with complex input switching on my home cinema system and the crappy remote supplied with my ATV1200, but this beaut has solved all my problems!

I was swithering between this and the Harmony 650, but I'm so glad I opted for this one because the hub/blaster is superb and never misses a beat even with the complex sequence to get my Panasonic HT to switch inputs and devices at opposite ends of the room. Not having to point the remote is also a massive boon.

I was slightly worried about the lack of buttons on the remote, but it's near enough perfect for the stuff I need to do most often like operating TV/SkyHD, navigating the xbmc box, watching dvd/blu-ray discs, and listening to my hifi system. I can fall back to the original remotes or the phone app for weirder functions that I haven't mapped to the harmony remote, but those are going to be rare occasions. This little thing is so much prettier and simpler than the other harmony remotes so has a very decent wife acceptance factor. To be honest, I really couldn't be happier with this thing!
find quote
Crssi Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 293
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 2
Location: Slovenia
Post: #214
Yeah Smile
I was also beating myself for too long hesitation. Smile
One of the best pieces of hardware I have bought, and design is also great.
find quote
zag Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 1,739
Joined: Oct 2007
Reputation: 20
Location: UK
Post: #215
I would go as far as to say this is the greatest remote ever built.

And I've tried a few!

HTPC - XBMC Gotham, OpenELEC, Harmony Smart Remote, Intel Haswell NUC, 40gb intel SSD, Core i3, 4gb RAM
Storage - 2 x qnap 8tb 419p+ NAS
Display LG 46" LCD + Casio Bulbless projector [PICS]
[Image: widget]
find quote
bry- Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,075
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 10
Post: #216
@zag - quick question. Starting off - i have a spare flirc that is not being used so this is why I am asking this question.

Do I need the one with the hub if I have a free flirc handy?

[Image: gn.php?u=bry-&fs=10&l=180&t=...;q=_L+-+_T]
find quote
bobones Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 3
Post: #217
@bry - the simple remote communicates with the hub over RF (radio frequency): it's not an IR remote so it will only work with the hub. The hub does the IR magic so it would be the hub that would talk to the flicr. Also, as far as I can tell both URLs are selling the same thing, i.e. both include the hub. In short, you need the hub!
find quote
bry- Offline
Donor
Posts: 1,075
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 10
Post: #218
thanks bobones - ordered.

[Image: gn.php?u=bry-&fs=10&l=180&t=...;q=_L+-+_T]
find quote
Joey d Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #219
Have a fire TV with an XBMC version SPMC 12.4.2 installed. Just hooked up a harmony smart control remote and got everything working as far as the remote, except when I navigate to the XBMC home screen to Programs>add-ones and try to select add-ons it won't work. I can navigate anywhere, but Can't select anything using the ok button on the remote or on my android phone. Do I need to change the ok button to something else? Tried changing it to enter with no luck. Appreciate any help! Thanks.
find quote
Crssi Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 293
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 2
Location: Slovenia
Post: #220
I have assigned "OK (Microsoft Media Player)" and it works as expected, but I am on Win.
find quote
bobones Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 3
Post: #221
You can relearn the OK command from the original remote if you're having troubles with it.
find quote
boomhower Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #222
I've had one of these for quite a while but only recently started usage with XBMC. I have mine installed using a FLIRC. I just used the FLIRC device in the Harmony software and it has worked like a charm. The only custom thing I did was assign a button to turn off subtitles. Everything else worked out of the box.
(This post was last modified: 2014-08-24 22:18 by boomhower.)
find quote
furii Offline
Fan
Posts: 479
Joined: Jun 2009
Reputation: 10
Post: #223
(2014-08-11 19:31)furii Wrote:  
(2014-08-09 16:31)ben81 Wrote:  Can anyone tell me how the response times are compared to the Harmony Touch? Even with all delays set to zero there's still lag left (200-250ms) that just won't go away. Harmony remotes without display seem to have much better response times (650 for example) - how does this one compare? Thanks!

i would estimate it's 100ms or less for IR. if you connect via bluetooth it's instantaneous. i have had a problem with openelec 4.x needing to repair the bluetooth connection that was no an issue with 3.x so i've dropped back to IR. logitech just released a keyboard addon that comes with two usb dongles that i'm going to give a try. the question is whether you can assign keyboard commands to the remote.

quick update for anyone that cares. i still have not seen the harmony keyboard addon available for purchase anywhere near me so i have not gotten a chance to try it. i did recently see a post on the harmony forum about it and based on a replay from a support staffer even with it you are not able to assign regular keyboard commands to the smart control. supposedly the feature request has been forwarded to the developers.

bigger for me though is that the bluetooth bug with OE has been fixed as of 4.1.6 so at least i have lightning quick keypresses no. no perceptible delay. additionally on the off chance i need to do something not programmed into my remote, or i need to type something, i can use the harmony app's keyboard to input it rather than getting out a regular keyboard.
find quote
Post Reply