Choppy Playback

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
baggar11 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I'm currently launching XBMC from my MythTv Frontend menu so I could play around with the MythTv integration in XBMC 12.2. I really like the interface and navigation, but the playback seems to be real hit or miss. I'm wondering if there are some options I can enable/disable to help out with the choppiness?

Here are some of the details;

Launch a livetv channel and pull up the stats overlay, playback is real choppy showing around 10-15fps. I then pause the channel, fps shoots up to 59-60. Then unpause, and most of the time playback is fine from then on. Fps goes to 29.97, like it should.

When I pop out of XBMC and back to my actual Mythfrontend client, playback exhibits no issues, ever.

Anyone have any ideas on this?

baggar11
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 7,392
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 126
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #2
What graphics chipset and do you have hardware acceleration turned on?

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
baggar11 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
The machine is running an AMD card. It looks like VDPAU is enabled. Like I said, playback is smooth as silk using mythfrontend. Just kind of random using XBMC for playback.
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 7,392
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 126
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #4
Unless you have been following the vdpau on radeon oss thread, vdpau is not the right option for an amd gpu.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
baggar11 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Thanks nickr. So I should turn it off or try another video card? The system does have an onboard Intel video. Maybe give that a try?
(This post was last modified: 2013-11-19 00:16 by baggar11.)
find quote
baggar11 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
I just wanted to say thanks. I got sidetracked on some house projects and hadn't gotten around to tweaking my graphics situation. But 2 days ago I took out the AMD gpu and started using the built in 965q Intel gpu and everything has been working great. No more choppy playback.

I think I was actually having a related issue playing movies/tv shows with that AMD card too. Every now and then when I would start a movie/tv show, I would only get 13-18fps. I'd have to pause the movie/show and then unpause for it to snap out of it and playback correctly.
find quote