Req Samsung Smart TV App
Hi there
I have been using XBMC for several years now.
I think it is by far the best media center out there.
I recently got a Samsung smart TV, which is great, the only thing missing is an XBMC app.
I have searched the forums regarding this subject, however in every thread i find, the answers quickly shift to alternative ways of getting XBMC on the TV (Plex, connecting a computer, apple TV, etc), rather than to is there a way to actually to that.
From what i can see, currently the option does not exist.
It would be really great if XBMC could be added to a Samsung smart TV as an app, since no other existing option comes close to XBMC.
Seems like it should be possible, if an app like Plex is available.
I hope this happens!
If it is possible to actually port the full XBMC experience to the TV, it would still be a huge undertaking to port it. Consider that XBMC for Android is still being polished and tweaked to be on par with the other platforms, and there are a lot more Android set-top-boxes and powered devices than there are Samsung smart TVs. Doing an entire port just for one brand of TV is not really appealing. I wouldn't even be surprised if Samsung changed their smart TV hardware and SDK for apps between models, meaning the port might not be usable long-term before needing to be reported for another model.

But hey, Samsung did buy Boxee, so maybe that will give you a near-XBMC experience that is built-in.
Xbmc can be installed on samsung Google tvs, but not the non Google smart tvs.
If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thumbs up' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "thumbs up" button.)
Samsung didn't make GoogleTV products and probably wont given their attitude towards Google of late.