Linux - [HOW TO] XBMC Linux on Geniatech Devices incl. Gotham Builds

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
AuXBoX Offline
Fan
Posts: 411
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 8
Post: #1
PLEASE DO THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK

There's now 4 versions of Linux/XBMC

Version 1. XDA Developers Gotham Build

Heres what to do
Download this

1.Copy all files into SD card root directory

factory_update_param.aml
factory_update_param.ubt
bootloader.img
recovery.img
MX_LINUX-G02REF-update.zip

2.Insert SD card into the box, don't use USB disk.

3.Press and hold the upgrade button,then plug in power adapter.

4.Hold the button for about 10 seconds, then release.

5.There may be no display for upto 2 mins (DON'T POWER OFF!!!) then upgrading screen will appear.

6.After it's finished, the box will restart.

Version 2. XDA Developers Frodo
The first stable Release out for Geniatech ATV520/ATV1200 by the guys over at XDA Developers
heres the link
[ROM][Linux/XBMC] Native Linux for AML8726-MX Tv-Box

Heres what to do
Download this

1.Copy all files into SD card root directory

factory_update_param.aml
factory_update_param.ubt
bootloader.img
recovery.img
MX_LINUX-v1.00-STVMX_G02REF-update.zip

2.Insert SD card into the box, don't use USB disk.

3.Press and hold the upgrade button,then plug in power adapter.

4.Hold the button for about 10 seconds, then release.

5.There may be no display for upto 2 mins (DON'T POWER OFF!!!) then upgrading screen will appear.

6.After it's finished, the box will restart.
Thanks to the hard work by all involved at XDA Developers

How to revert back to android

Download this

1- Place the following files on sdcard (NOT USB)
- factory_update_param.aml
- Revert.STV
- spi_MX.bin
- uImage_recovery
- update_stvmx_20130805_eng.img

2.Insert SD card into the box.

3.Press and hold the upgrade button,then plug in power adapter.

4.Hold the button for about 10 seconds, then release.

5.There may be no display for upto 2 mins (DON'T POWER OFF!!!) then upgrading screen will appear.

6.After it's finished, the box should restart.... if it goes to recovery and shows an error just reboot.

Version 3. Geniatech
This does not work on dongles such as ATV100, ATV120, ATV130, or ATV180
Updated with latest Linux Build 02/01/2014

Changelog
Code:
Fixed can not enter into system sometimes

Enable USB remote control/mouse by default

The power button on hardware works now

Buttons on infrared remote control can work

If you already have a linux build

1. Download and don't unzip

2. Change the file extension from .zip to .img, so it looks like MX_LINUX-STVMX-update20140102.img

3. Put file onto SD Card and insert into box

4. Press and hold upgrade button on box, plug in power adapter, keep holding the button for 5 seconds, you will see recovery (upgrading)screen

5. Release the button and press up/down button on remote control to select update from EXT, find the file to update

If this is a fresh install

Download this
XBMC Linux image for ATV1200, ATV520, ATV400, ATV360, etc

1. Copy all files into SD/TF card root directory

factory_update_param.aml
factory_update_param.ubt
spi_MX.bin
recovery.img
MX_LINUX-STVMX-update.zip

2. Insert SD/TF card into the box do not a use USB disk

3. Press and hold the upgrade button,then plug in power adapter

4. Hold the button for about 10 seconds, then release it

5. There is no any display for 2 mins, (DON'T POWER OFF) then, upgrading screen will appear

6. After finished, the box will restart

7. Download and don't unzip

8. Change the file extension from .zip to .img, so it looks like MX_LINUX-STVMX-update20140102.img

9. Put file onto SD Card and insert into box

10. Press and hold upgrade button on box, plug in power adapter, keep holding the button for 5 seconds, you will see recovery (upgrading)screen

11. Release the button and press up/down button on remote control to select update from EXT, find the file to update

If you want to revert to Android 4.1, follow the instructions below:

1. Download update_stvmx_20130805_eng.zip and HowToRevertToBox4.1.zip

2. Unzip HowToRevertToBox4.1.zip, but not update_stvmx_20130805_eng.zip

3. Copy all files into SD/TF card root directory

factory_update_param.aml
factory_update_param.ubt
spi_MX.bin
uImage_recovery
update_stvmx_20130805_eng.zip

4. Press and hold the upgrade button, and power the device

5. Keep holding the button for about 10 seconds, and release it

6. There won’t be any display for around 2 minutes, then the upgrading screen will appear

7. The box will automatically reboot to Android upon completion


Version 4. Unofficial Jynxbox M6 XBMC Pure Linux
Here's the link Unofficial Jynxbox M6 XBMC Pure Linux
Thanks to Jynxbox

Updated April 30, 2014

How to Install Jynxbox M6 XBMC FRODO 12.4 from factory Android

1. Download the following files
http://www.theaterinabox.tv/files/m6/MX_...ersion.zip

2. Get a MicroSD memory card (DO NOT USE A USB STICK TO DO THE UPDGRADE)

3. Unzip all the contents of MX_LINUX-v1.00-JYNXM6-TIAB-conversion.zip in the ROOT of the MicroSD card

4. Insert the MicroSD into the Jynxbox M6

5. Make sure your power cable of the Jynxbox M6 is unplugged.

6. Hold down the power button on the box and plug the power cable in. KEEP HOLDING THE POWER BUTTON FOR 15 SECONDS THEN RELEASE.

7. There will be no display for around 2 minutes so whatever you do DO NOT POWER OFF YOUR UNIT!. You will see a upgrade screen appear within two minutes. Let it run through it's whole process

8. After the update is completed, the box should restart. If you notice you are in the Android recovery menu, just select the first option to reboot the box.

Note: To enable WIFI in XBMC, please goto Programs, and select Network-Manager.

Change Log

V1.00 R1 (April 30, 2014)
- Minor bug fixes
- Single zip file for flash

V1.00 (March 23, 2014)
- Faster Boot
- Improved Kernel
- XBMC updated to 12.4 Frodo
- Full Clean Shutdown
- WIFI Manager in programs
- Various Bug fixes

V0.02
Shut down fix

V0.01
Initial Release

If you need to revert back to Android from this Jynxbox version download this by Biatsch

Heres a youtube video of flashing process if anyones interested





Some information worth looking at:

remote.conf for the atv1200 by Biatsch
Samba: Jatho's solution

+ REP if I Help
(This post was last modified: 2014-06-28 08:52 by AuXBoX.)
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-XBMC Wiki Guy
Posts: 19,850
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 247
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #2
Nice how-to!

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote
privado Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 209
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Just tried this on a ATV520, after box restarts, the box hangs on a black screen with powered by XBMC in the bottom right hand corner. If this happens, simply reboot the box, you will get a red xbmc logo with frodo 12.3 on the main screen, then boots into XBMC.
Network connection needed configuring the first time.
SSH access = root/letmein
(This post was last modified: 2013-12-15 19:20 by privado.)
find quote
superfreak79 Offline
Member
Posts: 82
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
(2013-12-15 18:59)privado Wrote:  Just tried this on a ATV520, after box restarts, the box hangs on a black screen with powered by XBMC in the bottom right hand corner. If this happens, simply reboot the box, you will get a red xbmc logo with frodo 12.3 on the main screen, then boots into XBMC.
Network connection needed configuring the first time.
SSH access = root/letmein

Hey... I'm having trouble changing my DNS from 127.0.0.1 to anything. Do you have any ideas?
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 7,421
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 127
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #5
Usual linux place for dns settings is /etc/resolv.conf - but if it is ubuntu based 127.0.0.1 is correct.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
superfreak79 Offline
Member
Posts: 82
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
(2013-12-19 10:35)nickr Wrote:  Usual linux place for dns settings is /etc/resolv.conf - but if it is ubuntu based 127.0.0.1 is correct.

Alright, so Linux XBMC 101... how to I communicate with the Linux box and change that? Can I do this over the (wired) network?

I have a little experience with running xbuntu on an old laptop, but not with this device.

Thanks.
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 7,421
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 127
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #7
ssh

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
uNiversal Offline
Out of Memory
Posts: 5,039
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 128
Location: Binary pulsar
Post: #8
Via ssh see post 4.
find quote
superfreak79 Offline
Member
Posts: 82
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Ok, thanks. I setup Putty and have ssh connected to Linux XBMC. I opened the resolv.conf and saved changes. Reboot the box and looked the .conf again. The old ip was there again. Is there some reason why it didn't stick?
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 7,421
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 127
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #10
What distro are you using? Is it ubuntu or ubuntu based?

Is DNS working?

Are you using DHCP?

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
superfreak79 Offline
Member
Posts: 82
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
(2013-12-19 23:00)nickr Wrote:  What distro are you using? Is it ubuntu or ubuntu based?

Is DNS working?

Are you using DHCP?

It's the XBMC Linux for MyGica ATV520 - posted above. I don't know if it's ubuntu based.

I'm using DHCP for this wired box - but don't want to. I can't seem to change the static IP settings nor DNS. So it's being assigned by the router (DD-WRT).
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 7,421
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 127
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #12
You didn't answer whether it works. Anyway read this if it is relevant http://www.stgraber.org/2012/02/24/dns-in-ubuntu-12-04/

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
AuXBoX Offline
Fan
Posts: 411
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 8
Post: #13
Superfreak79 try this

[HOW-TO] Use myResolv.conf to override DNS settings.

+ REP if I Help
(This post was last modified: 2013-12-21 00:32 by AuXBoX.)
find quote
superfreak79 Offline
Member
Posts: 82
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Thanks for your help. I've tried the Pivos trick a couple times now and haven't had any luck.

I am able to SSH to the Linux XBMC ATV520 box. I type the following: "echo "nameserver AAA.BBB.CCC.DDD" > /root/.xbmc/myResolv.conf (with my DNS address). The command works and then I reboot the machine.

After I reboot, I look at the System Info > Network and here's what I get: IP address 192.168.1.4; Gateway 192.168.1.1; Primary DNS 192.168.1.1; Secondary DNS 192.168.1.1

I use unotelly and the Global DNS clusters are here: http://www.unotelly.com/unodns/global
find quote
AuXBoX Offline
Fan
Posts: 411
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 8
Post: #15
You might be a able to create an init.d script to change the info on bootup.
I can't check my atv1200 its bricked at moment, i'm waiting for the cable to unbrick it, is there a rc.local file in /etc/ ?

+ REP if I Help
(This post was last modified: 2013-12-21 10:45 by AuXBoX.)
find quote
Post Reply