sharing my PC videos to my TV
I am a novice with this. Here's what I have: I have a PC running Ubuntu Linux with XBMC Frodo installed. (You know, the panels I see in MY installation really don't look like the examples on the XBMC web site, but still it is installed and starts and plays videos.) All network-enabled devices in my house are wireless. When I went to the network setup in XBMC I enabled UPnP (don't really know what that is) and when I did that my PC suddenly showed up on my TV as an input source. I didn't know it could do that, so I wanted to try to play videos on the TV that are stored on my PC. So I selected that as my input on my TV and it shows TWO folders: Audio and Videos. Where does it get these folders from? I choose Audio and it shows about 10 more folders with various names such as "Years", "Genres", etc., but all of these folders are empty. Where does it get these folders from? When I choose the Videos folder it is empty. I have tried to set up libraries on my XBMC on my PC. Now these videos are not movies that have metadata; they are home videos. All they have to identify them is their path and file name. I add the source and the files are there and they play in the XBMC player. But they don't show up on my TV. So I tried the idea of playing one of these videos in my XBMC player and seeing if it would show up on my TV. It does not.

My TV is an LG 47" Class Cinema 3D 1080p 240Hz Full LED TV with SmartTV (46.9" diagonal), model # 47LM8600. As one of it's apps it has something called Smartshare, and something called SIMPLINK. It says to use SIMPLINK I need to have PLEX installed on my source server.

OK, here is one other thing: my TV says it has these connectivities:

Wi-Fi Ready / Built-in • (Built-in)
MHL •
2nd TV Ready •
WiFi Direct •
Media Link •
DLNA (Movie/Photo/Music) • (What is DLNA and how to use it?)
Windows 7 Certified •
Intel® Wireless Display (WiDi) •
SIMPLINK (HDMI CEC) •