Release - Amazon Prime + Chrome Launcher (Win,OSX,Linux)

  Thread Rating:
  • 5 Votes - 3.4 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
deacon_hank Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #106
(2014-04-09 13:43)billyx Wrote:  Unfortunatly not compatible with XBMC 13.0 "Gotham"

Running XBMC Gotham Ubuntu 14.04 w/ HAL and flash installed . Amazon Prime plugin quit working until I downgraded XBMC to Frodo...now Amazon Prime works--and all my other video plugins don't. My workaround is to upgrade to Gotham when I want to to use the other plugins and downgrade to Frodo every time I want to watch my free Prime Videos.

Just watching the Amazon in a browser won't work for me because with HAL installed the screen goes black every 10 minutes now matter what my power or DPMS settings are; using Caffeine or the sleep inhibitor power applet isn't helping.

If any know of a workaround to get Amazon Prime + Chrome Launcher working in Gotham on Ubuntu 14.04 please share. I am out of ideas. Thanks for listening.
find quote
fAnTA Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #107
Is this the best way to play Prime content via xbmc? Or is there a simpler addon to get?
find quote
showcasefloyd Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #108
I'm sort of stumped here as well. I'm guess after reading through this forum thread I'm a bit confused.

I started with a fresh install of Frodo 12.2 (i think) yesterday and go it up in running (using an ION board with Atom processor). I then installed the BlueCop Repo and the Amazon add on. After adding my Amazon username and password it connected right away and I can browse everything just fine. But when I click on any video it begins to stream it quits and gives me an error.

So after searching XBMC forums I found this thread, but I'm not sure this will correct my issue.

Any suggestions? Is the plugin I'm using no longer supported?

SCF
find quote
majorsl Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #109
A couple pages back the author noted that someone else, addonscriptorde the author of the Netflix plugin here, was possibly going to do one for Amazon. I've not seen anything since.

I don't think the BlueCop Amazon has working for a long time.

I've bought a license for PlayOn which works okay through XBMC (I use it currently for Amazon and Hulu) but does have some disadvantages. Pause is sketchy and resuming is non-existent. Playing straight through works great.

I was really hoping to see something happen. With all the streaming services, XBMC seems to be left behind.
find quote
pylor Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #110
Anyone got any sort of solution for watching amazon prime on a pc using a remote control? I was hoping this would work but it looks like there's no update for gotham.

(2014-04-15 03:32)majorsl Wrote:  I've bought a license for PlayOn which works okay through XBMC (I use it currently for Amazon and Hulu) but does have some disadvantages. Pause is sketchy and resuming is non-existent. Playing straight through works great.

I've seen this suggested a lot, but I don't think I should have to pay another 40 dollars a year on top of my amazon subscription just to get some sort of desktop app for amazon instant.
find quote
majorsl Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #111
Wow, they raised the price. I think I paid that for my "Lifetime" version.

I don't disagree, but until someone writes something specifically for XBMC, that's the most reliable I've found for Amazon and Hulu. I wish I could code, I'd do it.
find quote
Post Reply