Linux need help setting up with 2250
ok i'm tying to build another xbmc machine and i'm running into problems. first off im pretty new to linux.

i installed ubuntu on a old pc i had laying around (amd x4 3.2 with 8g of ram)

i tried to install the drivers for my wintv 2250

and installed the tvheadend

first off i tried like 100 ways to get the drivers installed before i could see it in tvheadend, and when i finally got it to see the 2250 i couldn't set it up to scan for atsc.

i got really mad after messing with it for two days and started to build a windows server, now after setting that up i want to get it to work on linux. can some one help me out and point me to some good step by step guides.

also is that all i need or is there other software allso that i just don't know about to get all of this to work.

as far as distro i don't really care, i just need this box to run xbmc, run tv backend and media sever

thanks
Have you tried following http://lifehacker.com/5981757/how-to-wat...dia-center? ATSC is not as well supported as DVB but it should work fine once you get it set up correctly.
yes but he doesn't give a driver install how to and i think that is where my problem is
Drivers are in the Linux Kernel already. What you probably need is the firmware to upload to the card. Firmware can be got from here. The firmware needs to be copied to /lib/firmware. You should be able to see it sent to the card by checking the output of dmesg.

Also, check out these links

http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/Ha...V-HVR-2200

http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/Ha...0#Firmware

HTH
ok thank you i will give it a whirl
ok i think im getting some where,

how do i do this in the terminal though, im using ubuntu server

Create a file named options in the /etc/modprobe.d folder , the first line should have : options saa7164 card=8

i need it to say card=7
sudo nano /etc/modprobe.d/options