OpenElec RPi Gotham - Tvheadend Service Interfers with IR remote.

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
RichG Offline
Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #1
Hi

I've been having a strange issue with the TvHeadend service for OpeneElec on my Raspberry Pi.

On the stable build (3.2.4 / Frodo) everything works well. But i've been trying recent dev builds of Gotham and have been getting strange problems which disappear when I stop the TvHeadend service.

When the system starts up at first I can use my remote control as normal, then over the next few minutes it becomes less and less responsive to the point where I have to press a button maybe ten or more times before the gui responds.

If I ssh into the Pi and kill the TvHeadend process the remote goes back to normal working for a while, but again slowly becomes unresponsive after TvHeadend restarts.

If I disable the service completely in the Add-On settings I do not see the issue at all.

I've tried two separate remote control systems, the first using a GPIO receiver with LIRC and the other a FLIRC USB adaptor which emulates a normal USB keyboard (no LIRC) - both behave the same. A wireless USB keyboard is not effected and seems to work fine.

TvHeadend is used with a generic IT9135 USB TV adaptor plugged straight into the RPI's USB port. And the PSU has plenty of capacity being 3 amps, so don't think that is the likely issue.

As I said, the system works fine with Frodo, but I would like to get it working in Gotham.

Any ideas? Thanks.
find quote
dhead Offline
Donor
Posts: 515
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #2
I'm not sure if related but have you tried a different dongle ?
The generic ITE IT9135 dongles that I've tried never worked well with the RPi.

The IT9135 based WandTV seems to work ok and also a Realtek RT2832U based dongle (the "Mini form factor" not the full stick size).
find quote
RichG Offline
Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #3
(2014-01-14 04:39)dhead Wrote:  I'm not sure if related but have you tried a different dongle ?
The generic ITE IT9135 dongles that I've tried never worked well with the RPi.

The IT9135 based WandTV seems to work ok and also a Realtek RT2832U based dongle (the "Mini form factor" not the full stick size).

No I've not tried another dongle but will at some point soon if I can find one to borrow.

However, I found that my current dongle worked surprisingly well with Frodo, it's when trying the dev builds of Gotham that I've had this problem.
find quote
00b5 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 125
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 2
Post: #4
Just my .02, but I think you might have answered your own question.

I would suggest trying a powered usb hub. Plug all the usb devices into it. See if that makes a difference.

**I don't have a Pi, and I don't have a usb tv dongle, but I've seen COUNTLESS threads about Pis and multiple usb devices causes issues.
find quote
RichG Offline
Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #5
(2014-01-24 17:39)00b5 Wrote:  Just my .02, but I think you might have answered your own question.

I would suggest trying a powered usb hub. Plug all the usb devices into it. See if that makes a difference.

**I don't have a Pi, and I don't have a usb tv dongle, but I've seen COUNTLESS threads about Pis and multiple usb devices causes issues.

Ah yes - good idea. I will try a powered hub soon and report back.
find quote
RichG Offline
Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #6
Finally tried this with a powered USB hub and it has made no difference.

As I said this setup worked fine with Frodo and older builds of Gotham so it appears to be related to something recently introduced in either OpenELEC, TVHeadend or Gotham.

I have to choose between either my having my IR remote or Live TV working. Or I guess I could go back to an older version and accept the performance hit from that Sad
find quote
negge Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,686
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 19
Location: Finland
Post: #7
As always, no one can do anything but speculate unless you provide a debug log.
find quote