Linux xbmc will not connect to backend
ok i have been trying for the last week to get my live tv working

i started with a ubuntu server with tvheadend setup and when the channel mapping wouldn't work with ota i decided to try mythtv setup

i started with a new install of ubuntu server, got the tuner card working, got the mythtv backend set up and tested it with mythtv frontend.

my problem is when i started the pvr client in xbmc and put the server host name in, it just keeps telling me failed to connect to mythtv database. is this a problem with username and password? if so how do i change it or find out what it is? or is it something with the way the server is setup or not having something on the server.

i had the same problem with the tvheadend and don't for the live of me remember how i fixed it

thanks alot guys!!!
Do you have mysql listening the network? Firewall ports blocked?
sorry have no idea what you are asking. im a noob
There 2 things you need to check.

1. You can find the database password in the file /etc/mythtv/mysql.txt

2. Which version of mythtv are you running? version 0.27 isn't supported with xbmc frodo by default. You can use either the latest nightly of xbmc or somewhere in the forum there is a compiled version of the addon that runs with frodo.
ok so now that i updated the xbmc client... i can't log into the backend config on the server. it just says mythtv can not connect to the data base. i'm not really sure what is going on now. last night i could log on and use myths frontend now nothing. it must be some thing with the network i was trying to get my samba set up by using this step by step

http://www.havetheknowhow.com/Configure-...lders.html

hope that can tell you what i messed up haha. thanks guys for helping a noob learn something
Ok, so check the next thing.

open your mysql configuration file

sudo nano /etc/mysql/my.cnf

check if a line bind-adress = [IP] exists.