Can I have my movie collection on my WD Network drive play from anywhere?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
wreckthisplace Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hey there,

So I recently set up XBMC with my network drive so I can access my movie collection from anywhere in my house using multiple computers, xbmc boxes etc...
For this, I believe I used SMB. Now, this only allows me to access my collection when I'm at home. Is there an option that's equally as good, but allows me to access my collection from outside my home. I want to be able to open my laptop when away from home, run XBMC and play my collection from my network drive at home.

Any help would be much appreciated.


Thanks!
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 8,100
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 141
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #2
Set up a vpn and you will have the same experience as at home, network speed allowing.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
wreckthisplace Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Thanks. What exactly is that? Any idea how I would go about doing that? And is that the only option for what I want to do?

Much appreciated.
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 8,100
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 141
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #4
A vpn is a virtual private network. It creates a secure tunnel through the internet to your home lan, and the result is that your remote computer appears network-wise to be at home. However bandwidth is probably going to be an issue for you.

How you set it up depends on what OS your laptop runs.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
wreckthisplace Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Hmm...

I'm running OS X on my laptop.

What do you mean by bandwidth will be an issue?

Thanks again!
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 8,100
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 141
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #6
I mean your network speeds over the internet may be insufficient to stream video successfully.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
wgstarks Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 914
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 5
Location: North Carolina, USA
Post: #7
This may also be another option for you- http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=168296
I have never used it so I can't say how well it works. Just something you may want to take a look at.

[Image: all-thin-banner.jpg]
MacMini5,2 HTPC (Gotham 13.2/Aeon Nox Redux 5.1.3/MacOSX 10.8.5)/Onkyo TXNR609/Panny65VT30
find quote
wreckthisplace Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Hmm, I'm also thinking of using PLEXBMC inside of XBMC. Seems to work. My only concern would be if Plex has access to my computer and information.
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 8,100
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 141
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #9
Who would know with closed source software. Take a look at mediabrowser 3.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
wgstarks Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 914
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 5
Location: North Carolina, USA
Post: #10
(2014-01-14 23:12)nickr Wrote:  Who would know with closed source software. Take a look at mediabrowser 3.

Is there a Mac version of the server? Looks like windows only.

[Image: all-thin-banner.jpg]
MacMini5,2 HTPC (Gotham 13.2/Aeon Nox Redux 5.1.3/MacOSX 10.8.5)/Onkyo TXNR609/Panny65VT30
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 8,100
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 141
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #11
Presently under development I believe.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
wgstarks Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 914
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 5
Location: North Carolina, USA
Post: #12
(2014-01-15 00:41)nickr Wrote:  Presently under development I believe.

Good to know. I like the on the fly transcoding.

[Image: all-thin-banner.jpg]
MacMini5,2 HTPC (Gotham 13.2/Aeon Nox Redux 5.1.3/MacOSX 10.8.5)/Onkyo TXNR609/Panny65VT30
find quote
aaronb Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 199
Joined: Apr 2007
Reputation: 0
Location: Colorado
Post: #13
(2014-01-14 23:08)wreckthisplace Wrote:  Hmm, I'm also thinking of using PLEXBMC inside of XBMC. Seems to work. My only concern would be if Plex has access to my computer and information.

Confused

What "access" are you concerned about? Plex will index your media just like XBMC does.

(2014-01-14 23:12)nickr Wrote:  Who would know with closed source software.

Seriously? Come on.
(This post was last modified: 2014-01-15 03:55 by aaronb.)
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 8,100
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 141
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #14
Do you know what info Plex reports back to HQ?

No I didn't think so.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 20,377
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 258
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #15
I think it's pretty doubtful that Plex would do something nefarious with such data. Either way, there are laws regarding privacy policies being disclosed that they would have to follow if they did something funky. (I think. Unless Plex is HQ'ed in some random island nation in the middle of no where.)

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: debug log = debug log, Video library = Video library, SMB = SMB , userdata = userdata, etc
find quote
Post Reply