Server worries. Is it unwise to have XBMC, File Server, iSpy on a single box?
Hi... I've been doing a bit of searching on the forum and keep ending up with more and more questions.

Background. The current home server is about four years old and due to be upgraded before something fails... I really want XBMC running our entertainment system and have so far been using a PS3 with PS3 Media Server. It works great, but XBMC is just a whole different league! I've been holding out for a couple of years and just making do...

Requirements:

File/General Server
  • On 24/7/365
  • micro ATX
  • 2x 3TB HDD's, WD Red, independent volumes, used for general storage (no RAID)
  • External 2TB USB HDD for backups
  • Running iSpy for two 720p IP surveillance cameras
  • Backup storage destination for desktop PCs and routine phone video/photo backups
  • Windows OS
HTPC - XBMC
  • Running XBMC
  • S/PDIF output (preferred, not essential)
  • Able to transcode 1080P
  • Ability to run Skype (undecided)
Things to move off my personal PC
  • Peer Blocker
  • uTorrent
Other stuff:
Wireless is not used/needed anywhere

Given I'm looking to rebuild my home server AND put XBMC in the living room are there any good reasons why I shouldn't run all this on the same box?

I started looking at using a NAS + Raspberry Pi... The NAS (Synology DS214 or DS414) is more than capable of handling the general server needs, but it doesn't have an equivalent of Peer Blocker so that completely rules out using the NAS for torrents, even though it would otherwise be good. The NAS is great for the surveillance cameras though and meets my requirements in that area. So, it means I still run torrents on my own PC, which isnt' the end of the world... I'm usually only downloading a few 10's of GB per month.

Part of me really likes the simplicity of the NAS. I'm just a bit over micromanaging different applications for different tasks on the servers... something about that all in one package is very appealing.