sources: multiple paths or separate?
I've just recently learned that you can have multiple paths/locations in a single source. I've been doing it as multiple but separate sources (set to the same type). I've been trying to find out what is the upside/downside of each method but I'm just not clear on it. It seems to me that it's just 2 ways to do the same thing. Is that right? Or am I missing something?

To illustrate:

disk1:\lib1\ added as source lib1, type movies
disk2:\lib2\ added as source lib2, type movies

vs

disk1:\movies added as source movies, type movies
disk2:\movies added TO source movies, type movies

In the first method (separate sources, which is what I've been using) everything gets merged together in library view but remains separate in file view. Also, if a source fails, those particular shows just disappear, but everything else is fine.

In the second method - which I have no experience with - I would expect file view to merge as well as library, correct?

But what happens if one of the parts of a single source fails, ie, does it just "fall out" or does it take the whole source with it?

Does either method have an advantage when using smb network shares?

Is there any other advantage or disadvantage to one or the other?

I've searched through the forums without finding answers to these last questions, other than forming the opinion that it's just a matter of preference. Which makes me suspicious of my understanding. Confused

I'm in the middle of transferring my files to a new system, so I'd kind of like to figure this out. Unfortunately, I didn't think about this until after I'd taken the old system apart...
Depends on whether you want to access them via Library or as the movie view. As the movie view, it doesn't matter. For Library access, it might make more sense to break it up.

All in all though it is personal preference.