Linux - AHEM! Let me clear my throat...

DrDaxxy Offline
Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #31
So how's OpenStack working out for you? Do you run XBMC on it now, and do they play along nicely?

(2014-02-07 16:06)GortWillSaveUs Wrote:  512TB? wow,......I'm not sure the NSA has that kind of storage. Wink

They may want to borrow it.
find quote
jacintech.fire Offline
Fan
Posts: 345
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: Porto Novo, Benin
Post: #32
(2014-02-07 20:54)DrDaxxy Wrote:  So how's OpenStack working out for you? Do you run XBMC on it now, and do they play along nicely?

(2014-02-07 16:06)GortWillSaveUs Wrote:  512TB? wow,......I'm not sure the NSA has that kind of storage. Wink

They may want to borrow it.
I wouldn't if I was them...the system has a kill switch that wipes everything on every drive...
And another lesser evil that constantly scans the system deleting anything suspicious...

I will know if OpenStack can really "hang" when I move one complete server over to it (16x 4TB of data). Right now is just preliminary testing...

EVERY elevation of the type "man," has hitherto been the work of an aristocratic society and so it will always be--a society believing in a long scale of gradations of rank and differences of worth among human beings, and requiring slavery in some form or other...
--Friedrich Nietzsche, Beyond Good and Evil--
(This post was last modified: 2014-02-07 21:01 by jacintech.fire.)
find quote
rogern Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #33
(2014-02-07 01:26)jacintech.fire Wrote:  
(2014-02-03 21:08)rogern Wrote:  The rack is quite cheap as 350$ pluss taxes though

link

And with some LSI SAS controllers i can build the nas.

Not intended to highjack this thread Wink

The Rosewill Swappable Chasis is half as much and holds 16x drives. I have a self imposed limit on the number of drives per server (again, no particular reason; specially now with Openstack up and running)...


Before i will order this rack i do not find how deep this rack is, there is a limit of how deep it can be for me. Rosewill

The depth is the main issue with me, otherwise i have to buy a bigger one also
(This post was last modified: 2014-02-13 22:11 by rogern.)
find quote
jacintech.fire Offline
Fan
Posts: 345
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: Porto Novo, Benin
Post: #34
(2014-02-13 22:09)rogern Wrote:  
(2014-02-07 01:26)jacintech.fire Wrote:  
(2014-02-03 21:08)rogern Wrote:  The rack is quite cheap as 350$ pluss taxes though

link

And with some LSI SAS controllers i can build the nas.

Not intended to highjack this thread Wink

The Rosewill Swappable Chasis is half as much and holds 16x drives. I have a self imposed limit on the number of drives per server (again, no particular reason; specially now with Openstack up and running)...


Before i will order this rack i do not find how deep this rack is, there is a limit of how deep it can be for me. Rosewill

The depth is the main issue with me, otherwise i have to buy a bigger one also

Physical Spec
Dimensions
25" x 16.8" x 7" (635 x 427 x 178mm (Include panel))
Weight
Net Weight: 23.1 lbs.

EVERY elevation of the type "man," has hitherto been the work of an aristocratic society and so it will always be--a society believing in a long scale of gradations of rank and differences of worth among human beings, and requiring slavery in some form or other...
--Friedrich Nietzsche, Beyond Good and Evil--
find quote
calibos Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 130
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 1
Post: #35
Building myself a Flexraid server in a Corsair Air540 cube case with 9x Corsair 900D hotswap caddies giving me 29x 3.25" hotswap drive slots and 4x 2.5" drive slots. Case and HDD caddies cost about €150 and €290 respectively.

Deciding on mobo ATM.

3 or 4 LSI (2x SAS -> 8x SATA) cards too obviously
find quote
awp0 Offline
Fan
Posts: 468
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 4
Post: #36
You guys are awesome. When I mention my meager 7TB's to friends, their jaws drop. This is a whole different level, and I am impressed.
find quote
jacintech.fire Offline
Fan
Posts: 345
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: Porto Novo, Benin
Post: #37
@calibos,

I would suggest to stick with a base GNU/Linux install and add whatever storage infrastructure you decide on top. That way you can re-purpose your storage pods for other task.
I will be using OpenStack exactly for that reason: In addition to a 1 Petabyte, 16 pods storage array, I will also have a pretty impressive computing platform at my fingertips (via the compute module in opnstack)...

EVERY elevation of the type "man," has hitherto been the work of an aristocratic society and so it will always be--a society believing in a long scale of gradations of rank and differences of worth among human beings, and requiring slavery in some form or other...
--Friedrich Nietzsche, Beyond Good and Evil--
find quote
sfontes Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 4
Post: #38
How noisy are these racks? Can you work in the same room as them, or do they have to go out in the garage or somewhere?
(This post was last modified: 2014-02-19 02:47 by sfontes.)
find quote
jacintech.fire Offline
Fan
Posts: 345
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: Porto Novo, Benin
Post: #39
(2014-02-19 02:46)sfontes Wrote:  How noisy are these racks? Can you work in the same room as them, or do they have to go out in the garage or somewhere?


I meassured the sound pressure once and it turned out to be about 22dBA...

EVERY elevation of the type "man," has hitherto been the work of an aristocratic society and so it will always be--a society believing in a long scale of gradations of rank and differences of worth among human beings, and requiring slavery in some form or other...
--Friedrich Nietzsche, Beyond Good and Evil--
find quote
Soul_Est Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #40
This is very well done jacintech.fire. Just for reference, what is the resource usage on the testbench server with OpenStack? Also, are you running enterprise grade hardware (Opteron or Xeon CPU, ECC RAM) or consumer grade hardware (Core or FX CPU, DDR3 RAM) for the computing portion of the storage servers?
(This post was last modified: 2014-05-07 01:27 by Soul_Est.)
find quote
jacintech.fire Offline
Fan
Posts: 345
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: Porto Novo, Benin
Post: #41
(2014-05-07 01:27)Soul_Est Wrote:  This is very well done jacintech.fire. Just for reference, what is the resource usage on the testbench server with OpenStack? Also, are you running enterprise grade hardware (Opteron or Xeon CPU, ECC RAM) or consumer grade hardware (Core or FX CPU, DDR3 RAM) for the computing portion of the storage servers?

I now have 16x pods and with the exception of the two controller pods the specs are just run of the mill, commodity hardware...As for resource usage, I am just testing and fine tuning things. At this point any data in that regard would be meaningless..

EVERY elevation of the type "man," has hitherto been the work of an aristocratic society and so it will always be--a society believing in a long scale of gradations of rank and differences of worth among human beings, and requiring slavery in some form or other...
--Friedrich Nietzsche, Beyond Good and Evil--
find quote
Post Reply