Bay Trail-D motherboards

  Thread Rating:
  • 8 Votes - 4.25 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
shnxx Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #586
(2014-07-25 13:45)boris blank Wrote:  
(2014-07-25 13:35)shnxx Wrote:  So when do we learn whether the HD-Audio will be supported on this thing?
It's really sad that it can't do something so basic.

Are you talking about the Acer refurb you mentioned in another thread or something else?

If Acer, answer is here http://www.avforums.com/threads/is-this-...t-20871264

Yes.
I was under the impression, based on what I heard on AVSFORUM that it did not support HD audio.
When I played videos with DTS audio, my AV receiver didn't pick them up.

I haven't updated the BIOS though.
find quote
boris blank Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #587
In that case go ahead and update the Bios and double check all your sound settings on your Acer, on the receiver and XBMC. On an HTPC its easy to get something wrong and end up sending for example stereo or no sound at all to your receiver. If you are getting sound of some sort then you are halfway there!

There are plenty of threads on this forum with folks who have had similar issues. The fact you now know that the Acer can output HD-Audio means that its most likely a settings issue. With HTPC's, double-checking is usually the best and most successful approach to solving these sorts of issues and even then, check again just to be safe.

Just a reminder, DTS (and DD etc) is "normal" audio, DTS-HD Master or DD Plus etc is HD-Audio.
(This post was last modified: 2014-07-25 15:31 by boris blank.)
find quote
shnxx Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #588
I've updated everything including the BIOS but still do not have HD AUDIO.
I know this because when I try to watch content that has DTS-HD or Dolby surround sound track, my receiver does not pick it up.

My receiver does pick up sound so I can hear the sound just fine.
I guess I am somehow not getting the best sound?

EDIT: I think it might actually be working.
DTS-HD shows up as being supported and when I test 5.1, it seems to work on Windows tester thing.

The only thing I'm not sure of at this point is which setting to use on my receiver in order to listen to the proper sound effects.
Auto surround? Pure Direct? PCM?
(This post was last modified: 2014-07-25 16:34 by shnxx.)
find quote
topside Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #589
ASRock Q2900-ITX BIOS
find quote
shnxx Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #590
Okay so it seems that I was correct in thinking that not everything is working.

[Image: vynanyne.jpg]]

Shows no HD support.
No HDCP.

This is the output screen from the Acer J1900 HTPC outputting HDMI into my AVR, which can handle HD-Audio just fine.
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 00:30 by shnxx.)
find quote
decpvr Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #591
(2014-07-25 15:24)boris blank Wrote:  There are plenty of threads on this forum with folks who have had similar issues. The fact you now know that the Acer can output HD-Audio means that its most likely a settings issue. With HTPC's, double-checking is usually the best and most successful approach to solving these sorts of issues and even then, check again just to be safe.

Could it be the case that HD-Audio is not supported within windows?

IIRC I think I've seen it mentioned with other (Intel based?) motherboards/systems before. I get the feeling that HD-Audio bitstreaming may work within Linux/openelec but not windows.

shnxx - It could be worth installing openelec on a usb stick (so you won't lose your windows setup), to try as a comparison?

It's a very quick OS to install and setup and will happily boot & run off a usb stick.

At least that way you can know if the hardware supports HD-Audio. Getting it to work in windows may be a different matter.
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 08:53 by decpvr.)
find quote
shnxx Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #592
(Yesterday 08:53)decpvr Wrote:  
(2014-07-25 15:24)boris blank Wrote:  There are plenty of threads on this forum with folks who have had similar issues. The fact you now know that the Acer can output HD-Audio means that its most likely a settings issue. With HTPC's, double-checking is usually the best and most successful approach to solving these sorts of issues and even then, check again just to be safe.

Could it be the case that HD-Audio is not supported within windows?

IIRC I think I've seen it mentioned with other (Intel based?) motherboards/systems before. I get the feeling that HD-Audio bitstreaming may work within Linux/openelec but not windows.

shnxx - It could be worth installing openelec on a usb stick (so you won't lose your windows setup), to try as a comparison?

It's a very quick OS to install and setup and will happily boot & run off a usb stick.

At least that way you can know if the hardware supports HD-Audio. Getting it to work in windows may be a different matter.

Windows can definitely support it based on what I've read.
The issue seems to be about the driver on the hardware.

It's a known issue

https://communities.intel.com/thread/522...5&tstart=0
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 09:04 by shnxx.)
find quote
boris blank Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #593
Bugger!

My apologies for totally misleading you with the link to the Acer HD-Audio report which clearly states that the user had installed Openlec and not Windows - I didn't catch that and have no doubt wasted your time trying to get it to work when clearly it won't at this time.
find quote
chippy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Feb 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #594
Bugger was going to buy one of these boards but i use HD sound in windows 7 so will have to wait for a fix before purchase.
find quote
denz13 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #595
Can anyone suggest a j1900 mobo that'll fit a case with similar dimensions to this:http://www.silverstonetek.com/product.php?pid=419

Or
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B00JJF0X...mp_s_a_1_1

Thanks in advance!
find quote
decpvr Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #596
(Today 01:00)denz13 Wrote:  Can anyone suggest a j1900 mobo that'll fit a case with similar dimensions to this:http://www.silverstonetek.com/product.php?pid=419

Or
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B00JJF0X...mp_s_a_1_1

Thanks in advance!

This AS-Rock motherboard is a Thin-ITX type, which should be compatible with the silverstone case you linked to:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/MB-Intel-J1900-A...B00KY4BDWQ

I can't say if it would fit the shuttle case/system though.
(This post was last modified: Today 01:08 by decpvr.)
find quote
Topken Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #597
Seems the shuttlecase that was linked to comes with a j1900 motherboard already

The name "SHUTTLE XS35V4 Barebone Slim PC Intel Celeron J1900 Quad Core 2GHz Intel Gen 7 Graphics No Operating System - (Components Barebone PC)" Seems to be a barebones system already just add ssd and ram and OS and you are good to go
find quote
htpcero Offline
Member
Posts: 92
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #598
(Yesterday 00:28)shnxx Wrote:  Okay so it seems that I was correct in thinking that not everything is working.

[Image: vynanyne.jpg]]

Shows no HD support.
No HDCP.

This is the output screen from the Acer J1900 HTPC outputting HDMI into my AVR, which can handle HD-Audio just fine.


I just upgraded my old AMD E350 HTPC with an Asrock Q1900-ITX mobo. XBMC/gotham on ubuntu/linux. It supports PCM HD Audio over HDMI with no problems. Tested with various multichannel 192/24, 96/24 and 48/24 FLACs, sent to a Denon 3312ci receiver over HDMI. This is something that never worked with the E350. Easily 2 to 3 times the performance, better video decoding for XBMC, and half the power consumption.
find quote
shnxx Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #599
That's cool.
I understand why some people like Linux or Elec or whatever but those OSes do not work for my use.
find quote
shnxx Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #600
So given this circumstance, should I use DIRECTSOUND or WASAPI?
find quote
Post Reply