Bay Trail-D motherboards

  Thread Rating:
  • 8 Votes - 4.25 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,542
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 148
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #736
Adjust Refreshrate to match video set to "On start / stop"?

Edit: 4.1.6 still has the "old" Gotham intel implementation.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log
(This post was last modified: 2014-09-21 20:18 by fritsch.)
find quote
flash78 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #737
Thank you very much. Setting adjust refreshrate to match video to "always" or "off" and sync playback to "display (video clock)" seems to work (with 25% sync errors at 24fps video at "off" and 0% at always) . "On start / stop" or without syn playback lead to video stuttering.

Xbmc Refreshrate is set to 60 Hz.
(This post was last modified: 2014-09-22 15:37 by flash78.)
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 6,542
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 148
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #738
Debug Log - playing 24 or 23.976 content at 60 hz just sucks -> On start / stop is what you want - this won't switch back when you scroll the menus while watching a movie in the background.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log
(This post was last modified: 2014-09-24 21:55 by fritsch.)
find quote
BORIStheBLADE Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 779
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: California
Post: #739
Well my first Baytrail Gigabyte J1800- D2H I had to retire. I started to notice issues transferring files to and from it and after testing it out and all my hardware I couldn't fix the problem. I could only get 10MB/s max transfer speed over my network. Nothing would fix it except for a new mobo. I grabbed a Asrock Q1900-itx to replace it as my file server. Man I wish I waited for this mobo.. Asrock bios are so much easier to deal with compared to the Gigabyte mobo.


find quote
topside Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mar 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #740
BORIStheBLADE, it's very interesting.
In my example OE cut speeds up to 35MB/s due to NTFS driver and up to 55/62MB with ext3/ext2 FS.

config:
An ASRock Q1900-ITX mobo with SATA HDD and Xpenology [192.168.1.10]
Another PC with SATA HDD and OpenELEC stick [192.168.1.2]
All connected to my router (Gigabit ethernet)

Copying from ASRock Q1900-ITX Xpenology NAS to the PC with OE (NTFS)
[Image: 1027181.png]

Monitoring from my laptop
[Image: 1027182w.png]

Copying from ASRock Q1900-ITX Xpenology NAS to the same PC [192.168.1.2], but with Win7 x64
[Image: 1027184w.png]

update: same HDD and volume, different FS (ext2, ext3)
[Image: 1029141.png]

--

Wrong CPU speed
[Image: 1026975w.jpg]
(This post was last modified: 2014-10-12 00:59 by topside.)
find quote
BORIStheBLADE Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 779
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Location: California
Post: #741
(2014-10-04 15:36)topside Wrote:  BORIStheBLADE, it's very interesting.
In my experiment OE cuts speeds up to 35MBps.

config:
An ASRock Q1900-ITX mobo with SATA HDD and Xpenology [192.168.1.10]
Another PC with SATA HDD and OpenELEC stick [192.168.1.2]
All connected to my router (Gigabit ethernet)

Copying from ASRock Q1900-ITX Xpenology NAS to the PC with OE
[Image: 1027181.png]

Monitoring from my laptop
[Image: 1027182w.png]

Copying from ASRock Q1900-ITX Xpenology NAS to the same PC [192.168.1.2], but with Win7 x64
[Image: 1027184w.png]

--

Wrong CPU speed
[Image: 1026975w.jpg]


The Asrock J-1900 is working great for me. Its the Gigabyte j1800 that I was having trouble with. I was running Windows 8.1 with the J-1800 and If I find some time I might test Ubuntu and see what the speeds are.


find quote
zehner Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #742
ASRock has new motherboards with j2900 gpus, e.g. http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Q2900-ITX

A bit pricy (at least here in germany), because specs are almost identical to j1900 motherboards

With not very satisfying results with a few android boxes, I plan to switch back to a passive cooled linux box. Is a j1900 or a j2900 box here the way to go?
Most important points for me are:
- 1080p@24 fluid playback
- HQ upscaling (Intel specific or at least lanczos3)
All these worked with my old VDPAU box, but I don't have any experiences with VAAPI and if the Celeron has enough power for these needs.
I hope some of the VAAPI users here can answer my questions, because I've found no information regarding picture quality and upscaling capabilities on linux

Thanks
zehner
find quote
trsqr Offline
Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 4
Post: #743
(2014-10-07 13:22)zehner Wrote:  - HQ upscaling (Intel specific or at least lanczos3)
All these worked with my old VDPAU box, but I don't have any experiences with VAAPI and if the Celeron has enough power for these needs.
I hope some of the VAAPI users here can answer my questions, because I've found no information regarding picture quality and upscaling capabilities on linux

The upscaling is the issue. At least the N2820 nor E3815 are not able to upscale using Lanczos3. Have a look at the VAAPI testing thread on this same forum, fritsch has summarized the situation in the first post. The 2955U Celeron, as far as I know, is the lowest cost Intel option that can do it.
find quote
zehner Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #744
(2014-10-07 13:31)trsqr Wrote:  
(2014-10-07 13:22)zehner Wrote:  - HQ upscaling (Intel specific or at least lanczos3)
All these worked with my old VDPAU box, but I don't have any experiences with VAAPI and if the Celeron has enough power for these needs.
I hope some of the VAAPI users here can answer my questions, because I've found no information regarding picture quality and upscaling capabilities on linux

The upscaling is the issue. At least the N2820 nor E3815 are not able to upscale using Lanczos3. Have a look at the VAAPI testing thread on this same forum, fritsch has summarized the situation in the first post. The 2955U Celeron, as far as I know, is the lowest cost Intel option that can do it.

Thanks trsqr, this is not good news
Then I will better stay with my android box or try the AM1 platform for the time being
(This post was last modified: 2014-10-07 14:39 by zehner.)
find quote
Dougie Fresh Offline
Donor
Posts: 3,562
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 85
Location: New Hampshire
Post: #745
(2014-10-07 13:31)trsqr Wrote:  The upscaling is the issue. At least the N2820 nor E3815 are not able to upscale using Lanczos3. Have a look at the VAAPI testing thread on this same forum, fritsch has summarized the situation in the first post. The 2955U Celeron, as far as I know, is the lowest cost Intel option that can do it.

I wonder if the C1037U can do it. The 29xxU doesn't seem to be an option for DIY but the C1037U is still available in mini-ITX motherboards.

There are also A4-5000 and A6-5200 mini-ITX motherboards.
find quote
flash78 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #746
Sorry for the long delay, 4.2.1 fixed my issue with video stuttering
find quote
chippy Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Feb 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #747
So whats your opion on these boards i was going to get one but went Am1 instead which has been great but now i need to build an Hptc for a relation and i have some brand new memory that will fit these boards.

Will be used to play 1080p and the normal downloads duties.

Let me know what you the owners think of these boards any problems as i read some tvs dont get a signal ?

This Htpc will be transported 7000 miles away in to another country so i wont be able to keep going to fix any problems.
find quote
Post Reply