XBMCbuntu errno 5

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
josa Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Please help.
I have download xbmcbuntu-12.2.Intel-AMD but during install show error.

[Image: 20140131139120839110123.jpg]

My PC:

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6320 , 1,86GHz /4M/1066
GPU: ATI Sapphire HD5450
RAM: 4GB
HDD: 250GB
find quote
wobbly Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
i have the some problem

if anyone has a fix thst would be great

can anyone verify... xbmcbuntu-12.2.Intel-AMD.iso 03-May-2013 13:51 677M as working ?.. i
have looked at the md5 and it said matched ... but will not install i get an ERRNO 5 Input/Output Error i have redownloaded the iso twice , try 2 dvd roms to a usb install with no luck... if i try xbmcbuntu works fine just wont install please help thank you
(This post was last modified: 2014-02-03 11:10 by wobbly.)
find quote
alexktz Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
wow, pulling my hair out over this issue too.

thought it was just me!

Asus P8H77-V LE, BIOS 0237 | Intel i5 3470 3.2ghz | 8GB RAM | TX750W Corsair PSU | 60GB OCZ SSD | 500GB data drive
find quote
alexktz Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
just installed from the 12.0 iso and all was fine. that 12.2 one is foobarred!

Asus P8H77-V LE, BIOS 0237 | Intel i5 3470 3.2ghz | 8GB RAM | TX750W Corsair PSU | 60GB OCZ SSD | 500GB data drive
find quote
wobbly Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
could the iso for xbmcbuntu-12.2.Intel-AMD.iso please be tested reuploaded if its found to be broken... thank you
find quote
alexktz Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
Lol. No one cares! Sad

Asus P8H77-V LE, BIOS 0237 | Intel i5 3470 3.2ghz | 8GB RAM | TX750W Corsair PSU | 60GB OCZ SSD | 500GB data drive
find quote
waver123 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 173
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 2
Post: #7
is this with a burned cd/dvd or on a usb stick?
find quote
koajx89 Offline
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
As far i can remember i think i had similar problems... then i used this tool to install the XBMCubuntu on a USB and tried again, and it seems to work for me.

http://www.linuxliveusb.com/en/download

Remebmer you can just click on (Download) in the Program it self and download the XBMCubuntu from the list


give this a try and let us know :-)

or could this have something todo with BIOS settings like ACHI controller is enabled or something like that ?
(This post was last modified: 2014-02-11 17:48 by koajx89.)
find quote
alexktz Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Tried it on 2 different motherboards, once as a VM with xen and again as bare metal and just be sure as a virtual box install on my Mac.

All failed identically. It's a bad iso , simple.

Asus P8H77-V LE, BIOS 0237 | Intel i5 3470 3.2ghz | 8GB RAM | TX750W Corsair PSU | 60GB OCZ SSD | 500GB data drive
find quote
Kib Offline
Team XBMC
Posts: 3,202
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 53
Location: NL
Post: #10
Press the details button behind the download link and download from another mirror. Possibly one of the mirrors is corrupt

Neon skin - v3.0.7 now available for XBMC 13 (Gotham)
find quote
IchBinLuda Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
Its not corrupt if MD5 checks ok. The iso is bad.
find quote
Kib Offline
Team XBMC
Posts: 3,202
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 53
Location: NL
Post: #12
Well that would be weird suddenly since it is hosted at 50 mirrors, so feel free to make sure you don't get a different one at another mirror.

Neon skin - v3.0.7 now available for XBMC 13 (Gotham)
find quote
bull1683 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
having the same problem, if i download the 12.0 version is it easy to update to 12.2?
find quote
doug Offline
Donor
Posts: 136
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 4
Post: #14
There are lots of "errno 5" installation posts for Ubuntu on other sites. I've had it before too. Possible solutions:
-Remove all but one of your sticks of RAM for installation. Reinstall the RAM after the OS installation.\
-Burn the installation CD/DVD at the slowest speed.
-The target HD is corrupt. Repair/replace it.
find quote