Video databade categories?
I've been using XBMC for many years and now, tending to use the videos/files view, rather than database. (I'm running a shared db, with the main htpc as the server, and a few client devices).

The key reason I use the file view still, is because I haven't found a DB based (and wife/toddler friendly) way to split it up. My high level categories are Movies, Kids Movies and Asian Movies. So my kids can just click on a nice pretty icon and then see all their movies with fanart etc.

Recently though, as my db has grown (33 pages in fanart view in one of those categories) it's got slow to load, where I'm waiting to see cover images etc.

So, 2 questions.
1) should it really be slow to access via file mode (can I stop it rescanning on load)
2) if I use library view, is there any way to make an extra category split, in line with my existing 3.

Thanks.
It shouldn't be slow, but it depends on your system. A Debug Log will, as always, be useful in diagnosing whether the slowness can be improved or not.
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

(2014-02-01, 10:57)stevellion Wrote: I've been using XBMC for many years and now, tending to use the videos/files view, rather than database. (I'm running a shared db, with the main htpc as the server, and a few client devices).

The key reason I use the file view still, is because I haven't found a DB based (and wife/toddler friendly) way to split it up. My high level categories are Movies, Kids Movies and Asian Movies. So my kids can just click on a nice pretty icon and then see all their movies with fanart etc.

Recently though, as my db has grown (33 pages in fanart view in one of those categories) it's got slow to load, where I'm waiting to see cover images etc.

So, 2 questions.