Asus Chromebox announcement

  Thread Rating:
  • 6 Votes - 4.33 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
dontknowhow Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #781
Interesting; my comment was based on a fact sheet which might have been incorrect (it had 1920x1200); I know the old SB is limited to 1920x1200 for hdmi (a big complaint of mine; since my desktop is SB) and I thought I read that some of the newer celeron had limitation. I guess I'm trying to explain my answer becauase I hate making mistakes.

Matt DeViller was kind enough to contact me off list and was willling to test it with his system; but it turned out to be a problem with the KVM I was using. I still need to test it with a k400 (logitec wireless keyboard) but knowing it is the kvm is a big help.
-
I don't quite know how the suspend stuff works at the hardware/kernel level so can't really comment why this make sense or if a better KVM would avoid the issue (I'm using a USB only kvm and i hook the mouse/kb to the monitor and the monitor usb goes to the kvm which then goes to the pair of system).
-


(2014-08-19 13:44)dontknowhow Wrote:  For people who know wake from USB works on their chromebox; which kernel do you have installed ?
(This post was last modified: 2014-08-19 23:58 by dontknowhow.)
find quote
dontknowhow Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #782
-
Well I'm back to having wake issue. Using a connected keyboard (mouse doesn't seem to do anything) works fine; but if I use a wireless keyboard (logitech K400) wake doesn't work.
-
So my next question: Does wake from suspend work for anyone using a wireless keyboard (or alternative device). Does wake from suspend work with mouse ?
find quote
Matt Devo Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 788
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 45
Post: #783
(Yesterday 14:11)dontknowhow Wrote:  -
Well I'm back to having wake issue. Using a connected keyboard (mouse doesn't seem to do anything) works fine; but if I use a wireless keyboard (logitech K400) wake doesn't work.
-
So my next question: Does wake from suspend work for anyone using a wireless keyboard (or alternative device). Does wake from suspend work with mouse ?

works fine with my Logitech K360 and M310, both connected to the same unifying receiver. troubleshoot it like any other device - make sure it's flagged as capable of wakeup. there's lots of theads on the forums here troubleshooting USB wakeup from suspend

Questions about XBMC on an Asus/HP ChromeBox?

Check out the wiki and my EZ install script


find quote
dontknowhow Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #784
How do i tell if it is 'flagged' as capable of wakeup ? I did search the forums but didn't find anything relevant.
find quote
jsp1 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 128
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 1
Post: #785
MCE IR stopped resuming for me as well. I can resume via Logitech k400 still.
find quote
Matt Devo Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 788
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 45
Post: #786
(Yesterday 19:39)jsp1 Wrote:  MCE IR stopped resuming for me as well. I can resume via Logitech k400 still.

not sure why that would be, works fine here on 4.1.4

Questions about XBMC on an Asus/HP ChromeBox?

Check out the wiki and my EZ install script


find quote
dontknowhow Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #787
Thanks!


So you can resume from suspend with K400 ? Which linux are you using (kernel/distro) and which usb port did you use ?

What is MCE ?

(Yesterday 19:39)jsp1 Wrote:  MCE IR stopped resuming for me as well. I can resume via Logitech k400 still.
find quote
Matt Devo Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 788
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 45
Post: #788
(Yesterday 20:26)dontknowhow Wrote:  Thanks!


So you can resume from suspend with K400 ? Which linux are you using (kernel/distro) and which usb port did you use ?

What is MCE ?

all USB ports on the ChromeBox are equal.

MCE = (Microsoft) Media Center Extender

Questions about XBMC on an Asus/HP ChromeBox?

Check out the wiki and my EZ install script


find quote
jsp1 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 128
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 1
Post: #789
(Yesterday 20:26)dontknowhow Wrote:  Thanks!


So you can resume from suspend with K400 ? Which linux are you using (kernel/distro) and which usb port did you use ?

What is MCE ?

(Yesterday 19:39)jsp1 Wrote:  MCE IR stopped resuming for me as well. I can resume via Logitech k400 still.

Yes I can resume using the k400 no problem. I was able to resume using the mce (mine is a rosewill receiver w/ logitech harmony 1100). Now, it won't resume with the remote any longer...no idea if it was the recent update or not. I haven't really had a chance to troubleshoot.

Running Openelec 4.1.4 standalone. Just as Matt said, no difference between usb. It is same result no matter which it is plugged into.

MCE receiver for my setup:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...0820202327Confused

Lol, the emoticon pops up automatically as part of the link. Not my addition.
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 22:25 by jsp1.)
find quote
jsp1 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 128
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 1
Post: #790
So, it seems there are some general lockups with 4.1.4 for me. Library updates and such are problematic and this is also the cause of the IR receiver not working, as it has worked properly a couple of times. I'm not sure what the problem is, it seems to also happen on my other machine which is not a chromebox, so not hardware specific.
find quote
-DDD- Offline
Fan
Posts: 387
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 8
Post: #791
So then OpenElec specific?

| myHTPC |
find quote
Post Reply