Help with what to buy
Hi,

Sorry to join and straight away be asking for help but I'm new to this, I'm looking for a device to connect to my TV which I can use xmbc with.
I've came across this....

http://www.pcworld.co.uk/gbuk/networking...9-pdt.html

Will this do the job or should I stick with a Raspberry Pi ?

Thanks in advance.
are you on a tight budget? If you can spare a few hundred $, why not get an Intel NUC or build a mini ITX system with a Intel Pentium processor. Im running 2 of these and they are great
pvr.wmc TV addon and ServerWMC Backend Development Team
http://bit.ly/ServerWMC
I've read Raspberry Pi won't stream HD content smoothly. Maybe someone else can confirm?
As I'm new to it I don't want to spend a lot of $ if I'm honest.
(2014-02-05, 02:01)SpecialSauce Wrote: I've read Raspberry Pi won't stream HD content smoothly. Maybe someone else can confirm?

Raspberry Pi has no issues with HD content. Most reported issues are Wifi related (HD streaming is at the limit of what most home wifi networks will support) - if you are on a wired connection you should not have issues.
I would recommend it for internet streaming or viewing local libraries, TV recordings etc. It is NOT however an ideal PVR client - channel changes, EPG loading etc is very slow.
Thanks - Is the 1st Gen Apple TV any better ?
what sort of budget do you have? You could build an Intel pentium based socket 1155 mini-ITX system using the HDMI output from the builtin intel graphics on the CPU which does 1080P output and supports bitstreaming all audio formats... This can be done for like $200-$300 which is pretty cheap really.

Assuming you are in the states I just quickly looked at Newegg and priced up: