Small Guest House 9 Rooms... run XBMC?
Hey guys i have a small guest house and would like to run a video on demand system to all the rooms along with a news channel.. would XBMC work for me if I host it on a server and network the Smart TV Box XBMC Media Player in the rooms.. I'm very new to XBMC and I'm really excited but need some advice and direction..
Hi,

I am in no way an expert myself but I'm aware you can create different profiles which will allow different levels of access.

So I would think to start with that you need to investigate an admin and user profile. Naturally you want to lock down the user (hotel guest) profile as much as possible as you will not want them to be able to change xbmc settings.

I guess you also need to think about what device you will install xbmc onto and to change settings on that. Disabling usb ports for instance??

Are you going to provide "live" tv streaming? If so is your current broadband up to it? Especially if you allow guests to use wifi for their on devices for instance.

I apologise in advance as I've not really given direct advice but I think that you main priorities to consider are....locking users out of xbmc software and device settings, deciding on what you will allow to stream and is internet bandwidth enough?

Cheers
Confusion is just a state of mind.
(2014-02-09, 06:14)SpinX Wrote: Hey guys i have a small guest house and would like to run a video on demand system to all the rooms along with a news channel.. would XBMC work for me if I host it on a server and network the Smart TV Box XBMC Media Player in the rooms.. I'm very new to XBMC and I'm really excited but need some advice and direction..

I think XBMC would work fantastically for this situation. XBMC is used by a company called at-visions who does something similar, but on a much larger scale in a number of hotels in Europe. It would be a very different setup in your situation, but in a good way as it will be a far simpler setup.