HTTPS support?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
jaypi Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi,

is there a way to enable ssl for the web interface?
find quote
drpizznock Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Not that I'm aware of. HTTPS adds a level of complexity and ties up resources. In my experience the interface is accessed via LAN, where is the value in doing HTTPS?
find quote
josz Offline
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: Netherlands
Post: #3
If you wanna access it over the internet and use SSL for securities sake you could use Apache and mod_proxy to achieve this. Apache can be installed on the same host as XBMC, I wrote an article about this a while back
http://josnienhuis.nl/posts/6/webexposed...bit-of-ssl
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-05 08:43 by josz.)
find quote
realjobe Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,022
Joined: Sep 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
(2014-04-05 08:42)josz Wrote:  If you wanna access it over the internet and use SSL for securities sake you could use Apache and mod_proxy to achieve this. Apache can be installed on the same host as XBMC, I wrote an article about this a while back
http://josnienhuis.nl/posts/6/webexposed...bit-of-ssl

Hi.
I'm intrested to use Web-Interface (Gotham 13.1 with default WebUI v2.2.16) via https and I also have Apache 2.4.9 in my LAN Server. I have my own self signed certificate in Apache also for https:443

Above link was 404.

So.. I'm able to use my Apache Web Server:80 that is visible to WAN to redirect some alias to XBMC Web interface (I'm using port 80 internally also), like http://MyIP:80/xbmcUI/

?
(This post was last modified: 2014-07-17 15:04 by realjobe.)
find quote
situnrocks Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Location: India
Post: #5
(2014-04-05 08:42)josz Wrote:  If you wanna access it over the internet and use SSL for securities sake you could use Apache and mod_proxy to achieve this. Apache can be installed on the same host as XBMC, I wrote an article about this a while back
http://josnienhuis.nl/posts/6/webexposed...bit-of-ssl

Thanks
find quote