Windows - windows 7 problem with xbmc

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
miykel33 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hello I've recently starting using xbmc and cannot believe Its took me this long to find out about it its amazing. I first installed it on 2 of my android tablets which was very easy to do and had them up and running in no time at all. Then I downloaded for my laptop which is running windows 7 on 64 bit. The download and install went as normal but when it came to open xbmc up I keep getting an error message saying unable to initiliaze I've tryed uninstalling it and downloading again with the same result. I have very little knowledge of computers so will not be surprised if this is an easy fix. Any help would be greatly appreciated thank you in advance
find quote
baijuxavior Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,424
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 34
Location: India
Post: #2
Probably due to display driver compatibility problem. Please upgrade the driver to the latest.
find quote
miykel33 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Thanks I'll give it a go
find quote
miykel33 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Updated all drivers to no avail any other suggestions would be much appreciated thank you
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,252
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 144
Post: #5
Are XBMC.Exe and about 13 other files and folder in C:\Program Files\XBMC folder?

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
miykel33 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
yes all files are present thank you
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,252
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 144
Post: #7
(2014-02-19 14:30)miykel33 Wrote:  yes all files are present thank you
Have you try to launch XBMC from C:\Program Files\XBMC folder by clicking XBMC.Exe?

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote
miykel33 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Sorry just checked programme files/ xbmc again and cannot see xbmc .exe here's a list of files I see
Add ons, language, media, sounds, system, userdata, copying, glew32.dll, libcdio-13.dll, libiconv-2.dll, license.gpl, python26.dll, uninstall the finally XBMC there is no XBMC.EXE sorry if this is painfully slow not very computer literate thanks again
find quote
baijuxavior Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,424
Joined: Jan 2012
Reputation: 34
Location: India
Post: #9
XBMC.exe is missing? I suspect some kind of virus activity. Open the xbmc folder (C:\Program Files\XBMC) and carefully monitor the folder content during a reinstallation of xbmc. If you can see xbmc.exe and it vanishes immediately then most probably your system is compromised. Do a virus scan.
find quote
miykel33 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
Hi just followed your instructions and uninstalled and re installed it twice whilst watching xbmc programme file and both times xbmc.exe did not appear at all !!
find quote
MatteN Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
Have you tried installing it as admin? That solved my problem.
find quote
miykel33 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Apologies if this is a stupid question but how would I install as admin ?? Thanks
find quote
miykel33 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
Just want to thank you installed as administrator and it's worked a treat cheers
find quote
miykel33 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Hello I realise this might not be a xbmc relevant question but here goes !! Xbmc is working brilliant after installing via administration mode if hooked it up to my lg tv and the picture quality is superb but I'm not getting any audio any help would be much appreciated as always
find quote
bluray Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 8,252
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 144
Post: #15
Have you try Analog audio in XBMC? Make sure that XBMC is not muted sound.....you can get more info on audio in my signature under "Simplify XBMC configurations".....

>Alienware X51- do it all HTPC
>Simplify XBMC configurations
>HOW-TO Bitstreaming using XBMC
I refused to watch movie without bitstreaming HD audio!
find quote