Intel NUC - HTPC (Bay Trail 2013 edition - DN2820FYKH)

  Thread Rating:
  • 5 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
snatch22 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #46
(2014-01-20 18:45)jjd-uk Wrote:  Are you sure it's not in the driver bundle?

Not that I can see. I just rechecked twice.

(2014-01-20 18:50)chaseme Wrote:  To the guy's who've gotten one. Does it require the power cable from the socket to the PSU block like other NUCs?

The power cable is included if that's what you're asking..
find quote
joelbaby Offline
Fan
Posts: 401
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 8
Location: Perth, Australia
Post: #47
Re: HD Audio.

According to page 21 of this: http://downloadmirror.intel.com/23417/en...Spec01.pdf

It says that DTS-HD is supported.
The * (next to some of the audio items) means that it is a Trademark owned by another company.
find quote
jjd-uk Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 3,186
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 61
Post: #48
(2014-01-20 19:05)snatch22 Wrote:  
(2014-01-20 18:45)jjd-uk Wrote:  Are you sure it's not in the driver bundle?

Not that I can see. I just rechecked twice.

(2014-01-20 18:50)chaseme Wrote:  To the guy's who've gotten one. Does it require the power cable from the socket to the PSU block like other NUCs?

The power cable is included if that's what you're asking..

Looking here https://downloadcenter.intel.com/SearchR...+DN2820FYK

I don't see it either.

You'll have to ask Intel, maybe they are deliberately not providing the driver so forcing you to get a higher end NUC if you want HD audio.

Use http://www.intel.com/support/graphics/sb...ine+driver to check that it's not installed, as maybe it is bundled in one of the other drivers.
find quote
joelbaby Offline
Fan
Posts: 401
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 8
Location: Perth, Australia
Post: #49
1.5.1.3.1 Integrated Audio Provided by the HDMI Interfaces
The following audio technologies are supported by the HDMI 1.4 interfaces directly
from the SoC:
• AC-3 - Dolby* Digital
• Dolby Digital Plus
• DTS-HD*
• LPCM, 192 kHz/24-bit, 8 Channel
find quote
snatch22 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #50
Yup, I also read that. Doesn't work at the moment though. Also couldn't find the * explanation...
find quote
joelbaby Offline
Fan
Posts: 401
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 8
Location: Perth, Australia
Post: #51
page 2
find quote
chaseme Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 2
Post: #52
Thanks for the update on the power cable Snatch!

In regards to RAM, I'm confused on the volts. Can this take 1.5V DIMMS or it's 1.35v only?
(This post was last modified: 2014-01-20 20:24 by chaseme.)
find quote
jjd-uk Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 3,186
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 61
Post: #53
(2014-01-20 18:38)snatch22 Wrote:  No, and attempting to install https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_...s&lang=eng (which doesn't list the kit as supported) results in an unsupported message.

Sad
Have you tried the older version for the Ivy Bridge NUC's?

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_...wnloadType=

It's Ivy Bridge based graphics so maybe worth a try.
find quote
embrion Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Dec 2006
Reputation: 0
Location: Poland
Post: #54
(2014-01-20 20:20)chaseme Wrote:  Thanks for the update on the power cable Snatch!

In regards to RAM, I'm confused on the volts. Can this take 1.5V DIMMS or it's 1.35v only?

https://communities.intel.com/thread/46276

Regards,
Embrion
find quote
rogerthis Offline
Donor
Posts: 219
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 2
Location: Connacht
Post: #55
Is there any word on an Atom NUC?
Would there be any advantage in waiting for Atom?
find quote
agiler Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #56
(2014-01-22 10:56)rogerthis Wrote:  Is there any word on an Atom NUC?
Would there be any advantage in waiting for Atom?

This celeron nuc, DN2820FYK, is a renamed atom, based on bay trail.
You will not see a atom nuc, perhaps a haswell based celeron, like 2955u
find quote
snatch22 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #57
(2014-01-21 14:49)jjd-uk Wrote:  
(2014-01-20 18:38)snatch22 Wrote:  No, and attempting to install https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_...s&lang=eng (which doesn't list the kit as supported) results in an unsupported message.

Sad
Have you tried the older version for the Ivy Bridge NUC's?

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_...wnloadType=

It's Ivy Bridge based graphics so maybe worth a try.

Thanks for your continued assistance, but no dice. Says unsupported. Intel also doesn't seem to be of much help... this is my thread on the forums there: https://communities.intel.com/message/220509 Not sure if I should pursue a refund or wait it out and hope they fix it..
(This post was last modified: 2014-01-22 21:29 by snatch22.)
find quote
rogerthis Offline
Donor
Posts: 219
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 2
Location: Connacht
Post: #58
(2014-01-22 17:14)snatch22 Wrote:  Thanks for your continued assistance, but no dice. Says unsupported. Intel also doesn't seem to be of much help... this is my thread on the forums there: https://communities.intel.com/message/220509. Not sure if I should pursue a refund or wait it out and hope they fix it..


Have you tried out openelec?
find quote
yuyak Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #59
Wow, that's really disappointing if DTS-HD isn't supported by this guy. Maybe I'll have to go with one of the i3 NUCs.

Good luck and please keep us posted.
find quote
snatch22 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #60
(2014-01-22 18:57)rogerthis Wrote:  
(2014-01-22 17:14)snatch22 Wrote:  Thanks for your continued assistance, but no dice. Says unsupported. Intel also doesn't seem to be of much help... this is my thread on the forums there: https://communities.intel.com/message/220509 Not sure if I should pursue a refund or wait it out and hope they fix it..


Have you tried out openelec?

I have very little experience with linux in general and before I installed the SSD I attempted to get openelec running on a USB stick, but I couldn't get it to boot from the live stick according to the directions on the openelec wiki.. I *think* it has something to do with the uefi bios but this system is for someone else so I wanted to get windows on and I didn't try too hard. I suppose I could look into it more..
(This post was last modified: 2014-01-22 21:29 by snatch22.)
find quote
Post Reply